Williams Named to Hendricks Watch List

Meshak Williams

July 31, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior defensive end Meshak Williams was one of 40 defensive ends nationally and one of six from the Big 12 named to the watch list for the 2012 Ted Hendricks Award, the Ted Hendricks Foundation has announced.

Williams is up for the award that honors the nation’s top defensive end, and he is the first Wildcat up for the award since Ian Campbell was a three-time candidate from 2006 to 2008, including a semifinalist in 2006. A native of Sylvester, Ga., Williams’ candidacy for the award is the 16th for the Wildcats this season, five more than the previous school record of 11 held by the 1998 squad.

A former community college transfer, Williams was instrumental to the K-State defense last season as he carded 10 tackles for loss, including seven sacks to tie for sixth in the Big 12. Williams earned Second Team All-Big 12 accolades from Rivals.com, while he was an honorable mention selection by the Associated Press.

K-State, which reports to fall camp on Wednesday, opens the 2012 campaign on Saturday, September 1, with a 6 p.m., contest against Missouri State at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. A four-pack of tickets for the fourth annual K-State Family Reunion, as well as the September 15 contest against North Texas, can be purchased by Wednesday for $75. The game against the Mean Green also begins at 6 p.m.

Fans can also purchase tickets for the contest against the Miami Hurricanes, which will kick off at 11 a.m., on September 8, for $75 (bench seating) and $85 (premium bench seating). For more information on season or single-game tickets, contact the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or visit www.k-statesports.com/tickets.

K-State on Preseason Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Butkus Award (Arthur Brown)
Walter Camp Award (Arthur Brown, Tyler Lockett, Nigel Malone)
Ted Hendricks Award (Meshak Williams)
Rotary Lombardi Award (Arthur Brown)
Manning Award (Collin Klein)
Maxwell Award (Collin Klein)
Bronko Nagurski Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Davey O’Brien Award (Collin Klein)
Rimington Trophy (BJ Finney)
Jim Thorpe Award (Nigel Malone)
Doak Walker Award (John Hubert)