Mueller Earns Spot on Hendricks Award Watch List

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior defensive end Ryan Mueller is one of 31 players nationally – including five from the Big 12 – to be named to the Ted Hendricks Award watch list, the award’s foundation announced Tuesday.

Mueller’s inclusion on the watch list is his fifth of the preseason as he was also named to the Bednarik Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Lott IMPACT Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award watch lists. It also gave K-State its 18th watch list designation of the preseason.

A product of Leawood, Kansas, Mueller is up for the Ted Hendricks Award for a second time as he was on the midseason watch list a year ago. Meshak Williams was a candidate in 2012, while Ian Campbell was a semifinalist for the award in 2006 followed by a pair of watch list designations in 2007 and 2008.

Mueller, a captain for the 2014 season, tied the school record for sacks with 11.5 in 2013 to go along with 18.5 tackles for loss and 62 total tackles. The former walk-on earned Second Team All-America honors a year ago while he was also named the Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year.

The Ted Hendricks Award watch list will be adjusted as the 2014 season progresses and the foundation will announce a midseason watch list in late November. The winner of the 2014 Ted Hendricks Award will be announced on December 10.

Kansas State opens the 2014 season against Stephen F. Austin on August 30, at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. The game, which kicks off at 6:10 p.m., serves as the sixth-annual K-State Family Reunion and will be broadcast world-wide on K-StateHD.TV.

Season tickets for the 2014 campaign sold out on June 5, while only a small number of scattered singles remain for the Texas Tech (Oct. 4), Texas (Oct. 25), Oklahoma State (Nov. 1) and KU (Nov. 29) games. Standing-room only tickets are available for the Stephen F. Austin, UTEP, Texas, Oklahoma State and Kansas contests.

Visiting teams will also have opportunities to return unused tickets up to a month prior to their visit. Stay tuned to for information regarding returned ticket availability. All returned tickets will be sold at the full public rate and season ticket wait list accounts will have first opportunity to purchase. Fans can now join the 2015 waiting list online or by contacting the K-State Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS or by visiting

Wildcats on Preseason Watch Lists
Jack Cantele – Lou Groza Award
B.J. Finney – Outland Trophy, Rimington Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award
Tyler Lockett – Maxwell Award, Paul Hornung Award, Biletnikoff Award, Walter Camp Award
Ryan Mueller – Bednarik Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Lott IMPACT Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award, Ted Hendricks Award
Jake Waters – Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award, Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award
Cody Whitehair – Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award