Klein Named to Unitas Golden Arm Watch List

Collin Klein

Aug. 8, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior quarterback Collin Klein recently added to his preseason honors as he was one of 29 signal callers nationally named to the watch list for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which is given annually to college football's best quarterback.

Klein, who was named to his fourth watch list of the preseason, is the third Wildcat quarterback to be a candidate for the award. Chad May was one of six finalists in 1994, while Michael Bishop was one of four finalists in 1998. Additionally, Klein’s candidacy for the award is the 17th for K-State this season, topping the 1998 team that held the record with 11.

A product of Loveland, Colo., Klein is coming off one of the best seasons in K-State history as he tied the Big 12 and FBS quarterback record with 27 rushing touchdowns while accumulating 1,141 yards on 317 carries. He was also effective in the passing game as he threw for 1,918 yards and 13 touchdowns on 161-of-281 aim with just six interceptions.

For his efforts in 2011, Klein was named an honorable mention All-American by Sports Illustrated and earned First Team All-Big 12 accolades from the Associated Press, ESPN.com, the Kansas City Star, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, and San Antonio Express-News among other honors.

The Wildcats, who reported to fall camp a week ago, will hold their annual K-State Fall Football Kickoff on Saturday, August 18, as head coach Bill Snyder and selected players will address the crowd at approximately 6 p.m., followed by an hour-long autograph session. More details on the event, previously known as Fan Appreciation Day, will be announced soon.

K-State opens the 2012 season at 6 p.m., September 1 against Missouri State. A very limited number of seats remain for the Missouri State, North Texas, KU, Oklahoma State and Texas games, while great seats are still available for the highly-anticipated matchup with Miami on September 8, and the October 27 Homecoming game with Texas Tech.

To purchase tickets fans can visit the ticket office online at www.kstatesports.com, call the ticket office by phone at (800) 221-CATS or purchase in person at the Bramlage Coliseum Ticket Office between 8:30 a.m., and 5:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

K-State on Preseason Watch Lists
Bednarik Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Butkus Award (Arthur Brown)
Walter Camp Award (Arthur Brown, Tyler Lockett, Nigel Malone)
Ted Hendricks Award (Meshak Williams)
Rotary Lombardi Award (Arthur Brown)
Manning Award (Collin Klein)
Maxwell Award (Collin Klein)
Bronko Nagurski Award (Arthur Brown, Nigel Malone)
Davey O’Brien Award (Collin Klein)
Rimington Trophy (BJ Finney)
Jim Thorpe Award (Nigel Malone)
Johnny Unitas Award (Collin Klein)
Doak Walker Award (John Hubert)