Nelson Named to Biletnikoff Watch List

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State wide receiver Jordy Nelson has been named to the 2006 Biletnikoff Award Watch List, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club announced Friday. The award is given annually to the nation's top wide receiver in college football.

Last season, Nelson etched his name in the Kansas State record book with one of the most productive sophomore receiving campaigns in school history. Nelson's 45 receptions were the second most ever by a Wildcat sophomore, while his 669 receiving yards rank fourth all time on K-State's sophomore receiving chart and are just 127 shy of the school's single-season top 10. On the scoring front, Nelson's eight receiving touchdowns in 2005 rank as the seventh most in a season at Kansas State.

The Riley, Kan., native is a rare talent and at 6-foot-3 and 215 pounds, possesses tremendous speed and great hands. Heading into the Florida Atlantic game, Nelson has caught at least one pass in 12 straight games dating back to last season, all of which have come since his switch to the wide receiver position from defense.

Nelson opened 2006 with four catches for a team-leading 62 yards in the Wildcats' season-opening victory over Illinois State.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., (TQC Foundation), the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award is an independent, charitable organization founded in 1994. 
Nelson is the third Wildcat to be named to preseason watch lists for awards as senior linebacker Brandon Archer was named to the Butkus and Nagurski Awards watch lists, while senior offensive lineman Greg Wafford is up for both the Lombardi Award and Outland Trophy.

Nelson and the Wildcats host Florida Atlantic Saturday night at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. Kickoff is slated for 6:10 p.m.

2006 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Player, School 
Andre Caldwell, University of Florida
Aundrae Allison, East Carolina University
Billy Pittman, University of Texas
Brian Hernandez, University of Utah
Caleb Spencer, University of Nevada
Calvin Johnson, Georgia Institute of Technology
Chandler Williams, Florida International University
Chansi Stucky, Clemson University
Chris Davis, Florida State University
Dallas Baker, University of Florida
Damien Linson, Central Michigan University
Davone Bess, University of Hawaii
Deon Butler, Pennsylvania State University
Derrick Williams, Pennsylvania State University
Deyon Williams, University of Virginia
D'Jaun Woods, Oklahoma State University
Dorien Bryant, Purdue University 
Dwayne Bowe, Louisiana State University
Dwayne Jarrett, University of Southern California
Earl Bennett, Vanderbilt University
Eric Deslauriers, Eastern Michigan University
Eric Newman, Louisiana Tech University
Greg Carr, Florida State University
James Hardy, Indiana University
Jarrett Hicks, Texas Tech University
Jason Hill, Washington State University
Jeff Samardzija, University of Notre Dame
Joel Falani, Texas Tech University
Johnnie Lee Higgins, University of Texas at El Paso
Johnny Quinn, University of North Texas
Johnny Walker, Colorado State University
Jonny Harline, Brigham Young University
Jordy Nelson, Kansas State University
Kevin Robinson, University of Utah
Marcus Monk, University of Arkansas
Mario Urrutia, University of Louisville
Mike Thomas, University of Arizona
Mike Walker, University of Central Florida
Mohammad Massaquoi, University of Georgia
Nate Swift, University of Nebraska
Paul Williams, Fresno State University
Robert Johnson, Texas Tech University 
Ryan Grice-Mullen, University of Hawaii
Ryan Robinson, Miami University, Ohio
Shaun Herbert, Northwestern University
Steve Smith, University of Southern California 
Sydney Rice, University of South Carolina
Ted Ginn, Jr., Ohio State University
Todd Blythe, Iowa State University
Tony Pennyman, University of Utah
Vincent Marshall, University of Houston 

*This list is an initial pre-season list of players for consideration.  As the season progresses, other players may be added to this list.