Mastrud Named to Mackey Award Midseason List

MANHASSET, N.Y. - Kansas State senior Jeron Mastrud was one of 22 tight ends named to the 2009 John Mackey Award midseason watch list, the Nassau County Sports Commission announced Monday.

Mastrud was one of three tight ends from the Big 12 on the list, joining Colorado's Riar Geer and Nebraska's Mike McNeil.

A team captain for the 2009 season, Mastrud has been one of the most consistent players for the Wildcats over his four-year career. The Beaverton, Ore., native has played in all but one game since his freshman season and has started a team-best 21-consecutive games.

This season, Mastrud has caught 16 passes for 196 yards and one touchdown, while he became the third tight end in school history to top the 1,000-yard career receiving mark. He has 101 career receptions, which ranks 10th in school history, but tops among tight ends. Also, Mastrud has caught a pass in 23-straight games, the third-best streak by a Wildcat since 1990.

The John Mackey Award midseason watch list is an update from the preseason watch list, which was released in late July. An announcement of semifinalists will be made on November 16, while the finalists for the award will be reveled on November 23.

The John Mackey Award has been presented since 2000 and lists eight NFL players as alumni in Dallas Clark (2001; Indianapolis Colts), Daniel Graham (2002; Denver Broncos), Kellen Winslow II (2003; Tampa Bay Buccaneers), Heath Miller (2004; Pittsburgh Steelers), Marcedes Lewis (2005; Jacksonville Jaguars), Matt Spaeth (2006; Pittsburgh Steelers), Fred Davis (2007; Washington Redskins) and Chase Coffman (2008; Cincinnati Bengals).

Player (Year, School)
George Bryan (So., North Carolina State)
Dorin Dickerson (Sr., Pittsburgh)
Ed Dickson (Sr., Oregon)
Charlie Gantt (Jr., Michigan State)
Riar Geer (Sr., Colorado)
Garrett Graham (Sr., Wisconsin)
Ladarius Green (So., Louisiana)
Aaron Hernandez (Jr., Florida)
Anthony McCoy (Sr., USC)
Mike McNeil (Jr., Nebraska)
Kavario Middleton (So., Washington)
Tony Moeaki (Sr., Iowa)
Colin Peek (Sr., Alabama)
Dennis Pitta (Sr., BYU)
Andrew Quarless (Jr., Penn State)
Jesse Rack (Sr., Buffalo)
Kyle Randolph (So., Notre Dame)
Weslye Saunders (Jr., South Carolina)
Cody Slate (Jr. Marshall)
Luke Stocker (Jr., Tennessee)
D.J. Williams (Jr., Arkansas)