Brown Named Semifinalist for Butkus Award

Arthur Brown

Oct. 22, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior linebacker Arthur Brown has been named one of 12 semifinalists nationally for the 28th Annual Butkus Award honoring the nation’s top linebacker, the Butkus Foundation announced Monday.

Brown is the fifth Wildcat to become a semifinalist for the award and the first since Josh Buhl in 2003. Mark Simoneau, a 2012 College Football Hall of Fame inductee, was the runner-up for the award in 1999, while Jeff Kelly (1998) and Percell Gaskins (1995) were also semifinalists.

A native of Wichita, Kan., Brown is in his second year with the Wildcats after transferring from Miami following his sophomore season. Brown leads the Wildcats and ranks eighth in the Big 12 with 55 tackles, including six for loss and one sack. The senior also became the first player this season to intercept West Virginia’s Geno Smith last week after the Mountaineer quarterback broke an NCAA record of 273 consecutive attempts without a pick earlier in the contest. Brown, who had eight tackles against WVU, was named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week.

Brown, who also broke eventual Heisman Trophy winner Robert Griffin III’s streak of 110 attempts without an interception last season, has earned Midseason All-America honors from and Phil Steele, while he was a Midseason All-Big 12 honoree by

Third-ranked Kansas State hosts No. 14 ranked Texas Tech this Saturday in a sold-out contest at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. The game kicks off at 2:30 p.m., in FOX’s College Football Game of the Week. Coverage from the K-State Sports Network begins at 12:30 p.m., while the game can be heard on SIRIUS Satellite Radio channel 85 and XM channel 85. Additionally, a live pregame show - K-State Gameday - will begin at 1:30 p.m., on K-StateHD.TV. The show is hosted by Brian Smoller and Simoneau.

2012 Butkus Award Semifinalists
Steve Beauharnais, Rutgers
Arthur Brown, Kansas State
Jonathan Brown, Illinois
Max Bullough, Michigan State
Gerald Hodges, Penn State
Jarvis Jones, Georgia
Dion Jordan, Oregon
Michael Mauti, Penn State
Kevin Minter, LSU
C.J. Mosley, Alabama
Trent Murphy, Stanford
Manti Te'o, Notre Dame