Klein Tabbed Semifinalist for Davey O'Brien Award

Collin Klein

Oct. 22, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior quarterback Collin Klein became the Wildcats’ second semifinalist for a national award on Monday as the signal caller was one of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the selection committee announced.

Klein joins Arthur Brown (Butkus Award) as Wildcat semifinalists for national awards. The Loveland, Colo., product is the fourth K-State quarterback to be named a semifinalist for the O’Brien Award, joining 1998 winner Michael Bishop and finalists Matt Miller (1995) and Chad May (1994).

Klein, who ranks in the top 10 of 11 Kansas State career categories, has passed for 1,397 yards and 10 touchdowns on 98-of-139 aim this season, while he has rushed for 14 scores and 551 yards on 110 carries. His pass efficiency rating of 175.79 leads the Big 12 and ranks second nationally, while Klein is the only BCS quarterback with at least 14 rushing touchdowns and 10 passing touchdowns this year.

In last week’s 55-14 win at No. 13 West Virginia, Klein broke the FBS quarterback record for rushing touchdowns in consecutive seasons (41), a mark that was held by Stacey Robinson (Northern Illinois; 1989-90) and Eric Crouch (Nebraska; 2000-01) at 38. Klein also improved his career total to 47, breaking current NFL running back Darren Sproles’ K-State record of 45 between 2001 and 2004.

A four-time Davey O’Brien Honorable Mention Quarterback of the Week nominee, Klein was named the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week following his performance against the Mountaineers, has earned two Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week honors (Miami, West Virginia) and was a Midseason All-America selection by Phil Steele, CBSSports.com and Sports Illustrated. Klein was also a preseason candidate for the Manning, Maxwell and Unitas awards.

Fan voting for the 2012 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award consists of five percent of the final vote. Fans can vote for Klein at www.VoteOBrien.org as often as once per day. Finalists for the award will be announced on Monday, November 19, while the winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Award Show on Thursday, December 6, on ESPN.

Klein will lead third-ranked Kansas State against No. 14 Texas Tech Saturday in a 2:30 p.m., contest at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. The game, which is sold out, is FOX’s College Football Game of the Week and can also be heard on the K-State Sports Network as well as SIRIUS Satellite Radio channel 85 and XM channel 85.

2012 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Semifinalists
Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12
Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East
Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech, WAC
Seth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12
Nick Florence, Baylor, Big 12
Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12
Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12
EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC
Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten
Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12