Zimmerman Named Semifinalist for Jim Thorpe Award

Oct. 28, 2013

K-State Athletics

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State senior defensive back Ty Zimmerman is one of 15 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back, the Jim Thorpe Association announced Monday.

A product of Junction City, Kan., Zimmerman is the fifth individual in school history to be named a semifinalist following Jamie Mendez (1993), Chris Canty (1995 and 1996), Terence Newman (2001 and 2002) and Nigel Malone (2011 and 2012). Additionally, he is just the second safety in Kansas State history to earn semifinal status (Mendez).

Zimmerman has recorded 55 tackles this season to rank second on the team and tied for fifth in the Big 12. He picked off his 11th career pass against Louisiana and returned it 32 yards for his first career touchdown. He is tied for sixth in school history in career interceptions and ranks fourth in career interception-return yards (178). In addition, Zimmerman has broken up four other passes, has three tackles for loss and forced a fumble last week against West Virginia that led to a K-State touchdown.

One of the most experienced players in K-State history, Zimmerman has started 43 career games to rank fifth nationally among active players, while he has 237 tackles to sit just 12 shy of entering the school's career top-25 list.

The three Thorpe Award finalists will be named on Monday, November 25 and the winner will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 12 airing on ESPN. The winner of the 2013 Thorpe Award will be honored at a banquet in Oklahoma City on February 4, 2014.

Kansas State concludes a three-game homestand this Saturday with a 2:30 p.m., contest against Iowa State at Bill Snyder Family Stadium that will be televised nationally by FOX Sports 1. Scattered singles, as well as unused tickets returned by Iowa State, are available by contacting the K-State Athletics Ticket office online at www.k-statesports.com/tickets, by phone at 1-800-221-CATS or in person at the ticket office inside Bramlage Coliseum.