Reyer Named Ray Guy Award Semi-finalist

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State senior punter Tim Reyer is one of 10 semi-finalists for the 2007 Ray Guy Award, given annually to the nation’s top collegiate punter, the Greater Augusta Sports Council has announced.


A former walk-on, Reyer becomes the first Kansas State punter to be a semi-finalist for the award and the second Wildcat this week to remain in contention for two of the nation’s top postseason awards. Wide receiver Jordy Nelson was named a semi-finalist for the Biletnikoff Award.


A native of Wamego, Kan., Reyer’s season average stands at 45.1 yards per punt, which is tops in the Big 12 and eighth nationally, and has been solid as of late as he has averaged 45.5 yards per punt during the past four games. Reyer also has boomed 11 punts of 50 or more yards, including a season-long 61-yarder, and has downed 14 kicks this season inside the opponent’s 20-yard line.

On the career front, Reyer has averaged 42.1 yards a kick in four years, while his 201 punts for 8,464 yards rank among the best in school history. Currently, Reyer ranks fourth in both career attempts and yardage at Kansas State and his 42.1-yard average ranks third in school history.


The 10 semi-finalists will be narrowed to three finalists with the winner being announced live on ESPN’s College Football Awards show on December 6, in Orlando, Fla.    


2007 Ray Guy Award Semi-finalists

Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech

Keenyn Crier, Arizona   

Kevin Huber, Cincinnati

Brett Kern, Toledo         

Andrew Larson, California          

Chris Miller, Ball State

Tim Reyer, Kansas State

Louie Sakoda, Utah       

AJ Trapasso, Ohio State

Ben Woods, Buffalo