Thomas Named Semifinalist for Doak Walker Award

Daniel Thomas runs for a touchdown against Texas

Nov. 11, 2010

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior running back Daniel Thomas was named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2010 Doak Walker Award, the PricewaterhouseCoopers SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced Thursday.

Thomas, who was a midseason candidate for the award in 2009, is the first Wildcat to be named a semifinalist for the honor since Darren Sproles was the runner-up in 2003.

Of the 10 semifinalists, three hail from the Big 12 as Thomas was joined by Oklahoma State’s Kendall Hunter and Oklahoma’s DeMarco Murray.

This season, Thomas has amassed 1,102 rushing yards on 214 carries with 12 touchdowns. He ranks seventh nationally (sixth among running backs) in rushing yards per game at 122.4, while he tied Sproles as the fastest running back in school history to reach 1,000 yards in a season in terms of games (9).

The Hilliard, Fla., native is on pace to finish the year second in school history in carries with 285, which would be the most since Sproles’ school record of 306 during the 15-game 2003 season. Thomas, who holds the school record for rushing yards through the first nine games of the season, is also on pace to finish the regular season with 1,469 yards, which would also rank second.

K-State will begin the first of three road contests on Saturday when it faces the Missouri Tigers (7-2, 3-2 Big 12) in Columbia, Mo. Kickoff is set for 11:30 a.m., at Faurot Field and the game will be televised on FSN.

John Clay, Jr., Wisconsin
Kendall Hunter, Sr., Oklahoma State
Mark Ingram, Jr., Alabama
LaMichael James, So., Oregon
DeMarco Murray, Sr., Oklahoma
Bilal Powell, Sr., Louisville
Jacquizz Rodgers, Jr., Oregon State
Vai Taua, Sr., Nevada
Daniel Thomas, Sr., Kansas State
Ed Wesley, So., TCU