Truman Named Semifinalist for Burlsworth Award

MANHATTAN, Kan. -- Kansas State senior linebacker Jonathan Truman is one of 10 semifinalists for the Burlsworth Award, which honors the most outstanding football player in America that began his career as a walk-on, the award's committee announced Tuesday.

Truman, the lone semifinalist from the Big 12, is the third Wildcat in as many years to earn semifinalist status for the award, joining offensive lineman B.J. Finney (2012) and defensive end Ryan Mueller (2013).

A product of Kechi, Kansas, Truman has played in 48 career games, including starts in each of his last 21. He leads the team and ranks third in the Big 12 with 85 tackles, just four shy of his season total from last season with four games left to play. He is on pace for 123 tackles this season, which would rank 19th in school history and be the most by a Wildcat since Josh Buhl in 2003.

Just 34 tackles shy of becoming the 26th player in school history with 250 in a career, Truman's total was given a boost earlier this season in a 31-30 win at Oklahoma when he recorded 17 stops, the most by a Wildcat since 2003 and the most by a K-State defender in a conference game since 2002.

Voted a team captain, Truman is one of nine current or former walk-ons on the squad to start a game this season and joins a storied list of former K-State walk-ons who have excelled under head coach Bill Snyder. Five walk-ons under Snyder have gone on to play in the NFL, headlined by current Green Bay Packer wide receiver Jordy Nelson.

The Burlsworth Trophy Selection Committee will announce three finalists for the award on Nov. 25. Fans can help Truman become a finalist by voting online at Voting begins today at 2 p.m. (CT) and concludes at midnight on Nov. 20. Finalists will be honored and the winner of the 2014 Burlsworth Trophy will be announced on Dec. 8, at a banquet in Springdale, Arkansas.

No. 12/11 Kansas State travels to face West Virginia on Thursday at Milan Puskar Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. (CT), and the game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports 1.