Mueller Named Semifinalist for Burlsworth Trophy

Nov. 19, 2013

K-State Athletics

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State junior defensive end Ryan Mueller was one of 10 players nationally to be named a semifinalist for the Burlsworth Trophy as the most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on, the Burlsworth Foundation announced Tuesday.

Mueller's honor marks the second-straight season a Wildcat has been named a semifinalist, joining offensive lineman B.J. Finney, while he is one of just two semifinalists in the Big 12 in the running for the 2013 honor along with Texas Tech quarterback Baker Mayfield.

Mueller, who walked-on at K-State prior to the 2010 season, has put together a breakout performance in 2013. He ranks fifth nationally in sacks with 10.5 and seventh in tackles for loss with 16.0, while he paces the Big 12 in both categories. He is tied for sixth in school history in single-season sacks and is just one shy of tying the school record held by Nyle Wiren (1996) and another former walk-on in Ian Campbell (2006). The junior has at least a half tackle for loss in every game this season and is just two away of appearing on the school's single-season top-10 list.

Fans are allowed to vote for their favorite player via the fan vote at Fans are limited to one vote per day, and the voting will conclude at midnight on Sunday, November 24. The Fan Vote counts as five-percent during each round of voting and is combined with the results from the selection committee.

Kansas State takes on 18th-ranked Oklahoma Saturday on Senior Day at Bill Snyder Family Stadium. The game, which is slated for an 11 a.m., kickoff, will be televised nationally on FOX Sports 1. Scattered singles and standing-room only tickets are available online at, by phone at 1-800-221-CATS and in person at the K-State Athletics Ticket office inside Bramlage Coliseum.