Snyder Named Maxwell Coach of the Year Semifinalist

MANHATTAN, Kan. -- Kansas State head football coach Bill Snyder is one of 20 semifinalists for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced Wednesday.

It is the second time in the last three years Snyder has been up for the award after being named a finalist in 2012. Snyder is joined on the list by fellow Big 12 coaches Art Briles (Baylor) and Gary Patterson (TCU).

A ballot member for the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2015, Snyder has guided Kansas State to a 7-2 record, including a 5-1 mark in Big 12 play, in 2014 as the Wildcats checked in at No. 12 in this week's College Football Playoff Top 25. K-State started Big 12 play 5-0 for the second time in the last three years and the fourth overall under the legendary head coach. He guided the Wildcats to bowl eligibility for the 16th time in 2014 and extended K-State's bowl streak to five-straight years.

Tied for 33rd all-time among FBS coaches with 185 career victories, Snyder ranks second in the FBS in wins among active coaches at their current schools and fifth in total victories among active head coaches. He has also guided K-State to a 25-8 Big 12 record since 2011, which are the most victories and best winning percentage in the conference during that time.

Finalist voting for of the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Thursday, Nov. 20, and close on Monday, Dec. 8. The finalist round will include the top three coaches, while voting for the 2014 winner will open Dec. 10, and run until Dec. 21.

No. 12/11 K-State faces a Thursday-night road test at West Virginia at Milan Puskar Stadium. The game, which will be shown to a national audience on FOX Sports 1, will kick off at 6 p.m. (CT).

2014 Maxwell Coach of the Year Semifinalists
Troy Calhoun (Air Force)
Nick Saban (Alabama)
Rich Rodriguez (Arizona)
Todd Graham (Arizona State)
Art Briles (Baylor)
Jim McElwain (Colorado State)
David Cutcliffe (Duke)
Jimbo Fisher (Florida State)
Mark Richt (Georgia)
Paul Johnson (Georgia Tech)
Bill Snyder (Kansas State)
Doc Holliday (Marshall)
Hugh Freeze (Mississippi)
Dan Mullen (Mississippi State)
Urban Meyer (Ohio State)
Mark Helfrich (Oregon)
Gary Patterson (TCU)
Kyle Whittingham (Utah)
P.J. Fleck (Western Michigan)
Gary Andersen (Wisconsin)