Five Wildcats Named Academic All-Big 12

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State’s Corey Adams, Tysyn Hartman, Alex Hrebec, Jeron Mastrud and Darrin Seiwert were named to the 2008 Academic All-Big 12 Football First Team, the conference office announced Tuesday.


Mastrud, a junior business administration major and the second-leading receiver on the squad this past season, earned his second straight first team honor, while all other four Wildcats garnered the honor for the first time.


Adams, a sophomore long snapper from Monument, Colo., and Hartman, a Wichita native and junior defensive back, both are open option majors, while Hrebec, a redshirt freshman linebacker from St. Louis, Mo., and the Wildcats’ second-leading tackler in 2008, is a pre-chiropractic major. Seiwert, a senior tight end from Conway Springs, is majoring in agronomy.


Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and its media relations offices, the football academic all-league squad consisted of 91 first team members combined with 46 on the second team. First team members have recorded a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those with a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher, either cumulative or in the two previous semesters and have participated in 60 percent of his team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.