Klein Tabbed Finalist for Walter Camp, Manning Awards

Quarterback Collin Klein

Nov. 28, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State senior quarterback Collin Klein added two more accolades Wednesday as he was named a finalist for both the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Manning Award.

Klein is one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Award, which is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, and will be announced on Thursday, December 6, during the 6 p.m. (ET) edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

The Loveland, Colo., product is one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award, which is the only award to take into account a quarterback's bowl performance. The winner is selected by a panel of national media covering college football - as well as Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning - and will be announced following the BCS National Championship Game.

In addition to the Walter Camp and Manning awards, Klein is also one of three finalists for the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards, which will be presented at The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday, December 6, at 6:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPN.

Klein has guided the Wildcats to their 10th 10-win season in school history and a 7-1 mark in Big 12 play. The quarterback has accounted for 34 touchdowns to rank 11th nationally in touchdown responsibility, while he is third and tops among quarterbacks with 20 rushing scores. He is the only quarterback from a BCS AQ school in the BCS era to rush for at least 20 touchdowns and pass for at least 10 touchdowns in multiple seasons.

In 11 games, Klein has completed 172-of-258 passes for 2,306 yards and 14 touchdowns while totaling 787 rushing yards on 171 attempts. He ranks 10th in school history in passing yardage and touchdowns, while he is tied for eighth in completions. Additionally, his current season pass efficiency rating of 155.00 ranks third in school history, while he is tied for second in rushing touchdowns behind his school-record 27 scores last season.

With his outstanding senior campaign, Klein has put together one of the best careers in K-State history as both a passer and a runner, ranking in the top 10 in school history in rushing touchdowns (1st; 53), touchdown responsibility (1st; 81), scoring (2nd; 324), total yards (3rd; 6,741), passing efficiency (3rd; 140.16), rushing attempts (3rd; 565), rushing yards (5th; 2,352), completions (5th, 345), passing touchdowns (7th; 28), passing yards (8th; 4,389) and pass attempts (9th; 558).

Joining Klein on the finalist list for the Walter Camp Award was running back Kenjon Barner (Oregon), wide receiver Marqise Lee (USC), quarterback Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) and linebacker Manti T'eo. Both Klein and Manziel were finalists for the Manning Award along with Matt Barkley (USC), Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), AJ McCarron (Alabama), Braxton Miller (Ohio State), Aaron Murray (Georgia) and Geno Smith (West Virginia).

No. 6 Kansas State takes on 18th-ranked Texas at 7 p.m., Saturday at Bill Snyder Family Stadium in a nationally-televised contest on ABC.