Twelve K-State Players Honored by Phil Steele

MANHATTAN, Kan. -- Twelve Kansas State players - highlighted by first-team All-America punt returner Tyler Lockett and Freshman All-America place kicker Matthew McCrane - earned postseason honors from Phil Steele, the publication announced Thursday.

Lockett was also a First Team All-Big 12 honoree as a wide receiver and punt returner and was joined on the first team by center B.J. Finney. Offensive lineman Cody Whitehair, defensive end Ryan Mueller, linebacker Jonathan Truman and defensive back Randall Evans were named Second Team All-Big 12 performers.

The publication named McCrane, quarterback Jake Waters, wide receiver Curry Sexton, fullback Glenn Gronkowski and defensive backs Dante Barnett and Danzel McDaniel to the third team. McDaniel was also named the Defensive Newcomer of the Year by ESPN.

Lockett, the first four-year All-American in school history, has now been named to All-America teams by 10 organizations or media outlets this year, including eight first-team designations. He leads the Big 12 and ranks fourth nationally with 170.6 all-purpose yards per game, including 112.6 receiving yards per game.

McCrane was named a Freshman All-American for the second time this season after also being tabbed by USA Today. He has been true on 16-of-17 field goals this year - including all 10 from 30 yards or greater - and enters the bowl season ranked second nationally in field goal percentage.
No. 11 Kansas State (9-3, 7-2 Big 12) faces No. 14 UCLA (9-3, 6-3 Pac-12) in the 2015 Valero Alamo Bowl on Friday, January 2, at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. The game, which kicks off at 5:45 p.m., will be televised nationally by ESPN.
Fans can order tickets through the K-State Athletics Ticket office online at or by phone at 1-800-221-CATS. Fans are strongly encouraged to order through K-State's official allotment to ensure that all Wildcat fans are seated in the official K-State sections of the stadium.

Kansas State's 2014 Postseason Honors from Phil Steele
First Team All-America: Tyler Lockett (punt return)
Freshman All-America: Matthew McCrane
First Team All-Big 12: Tyler Lockett (wide receiver and punt return), B.J. Finney
Second Team All-Big 12: Cody Whitehair, Ryan Mueller, Jonathan Truman, Randall Evans
Third Team All-Big 12: Jake Waters, Curry Sexton, Glenn Gronkowski, Dante Barnett, Danzel McDaniel, Matthew McCrane