Wildcats Place Two on Central Region Team

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State golfers Robert Streb and Mitchell Gregson were named to the 2009 Ping All-Central Region team, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Monday. The Wildcats have placed a player on the Central Region team in six of the last seven years.


Streb, a senior, was also named a Honorable Mention Ping All-American, becoming just the second player in Kansas State history to earn all-American status. The Edmond, Okla., native finished the season with a team-leading 71.59 stroke average and helped the Wildcats record the lowest team stroke average in school history. Streb led the Wildcats to a fourth place finish at the Big 12 Championship after finishing third at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan, the highest ever individual finish by a Wildcat at the Big 12 Championship.


Gregon made the Central Region team for the second consecutive year. Gregson had one of the most successful seasons in Kansas State history as he won the Jim Colbert Intercollegiate and the Santa Clara Invitational, becoming the first Wildcat to win two tournaments in a season since Aaron Watkins in 2002.


Streb and Gregson led the Wildcats to the most successful season since head coach Tim Norris took over the program in the fall of 1997. The Wildcats won four tournaments this past year, the most since the 1984-85 season.


2009 All-Central Region Team

Bronson Burgoon, Texas A&M                         Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State

Nils Floren, Texas Tech                                     Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State

Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State                        Chris Ward, Texas Tech

Dustin Garza, Wichita State                               Trent Whitekiller, Oklahoma State

Pat Grady, Colorado

Mitchell Gregson, Kansas State

Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State

Hugues Joannes, Lamar

Andrew Landry, Arkansas

Trent Leon, Oklahoma State

David Lingmerth, Arkansas

Lance Lopez, Texas

Bobby Massa, UTA

Garrett Merrell, Texas Tech

Andrea Pavan, Texas A&M

Trent Peterson, South Dakota State

Santiago Rivas, Texas Tech

James Sacheck, TCU

Robert Streb, Kansas State

Derek Tolan, Colorado

Ethan Tracy, Arkansas