Large Contingent of Wildcat Golfers at Kansas Amateur

Ross Geubelle

July 19, 2010

HUTCHINSON, Kan. - Several current, future and former Kansas State golfers will compete in the 2010 Kansas Amateur Championship at the Prairie Dunes Country Club, July 20-26.

Eight of the 10 K-State golfers on the roster for the 2010-11 season will compete in the field of 156. Senior Ross Geubelle secured his exemption into the field by winning the Kansas Golf Association Pub Links Championship at Colbert Hills in May. He will be joined by fellow senior Jason Schulte, who shot 69 during a qualifying tournament in June.

Junior Kyle Smell shot 76 in his June qualifier to advance to Hutchinson. A trio of sophomores in Ben Juffer (68), Chase Chamberlin (71) and Curtis Yonke (73) also secured a spot during qualifying tournaments across the state in June.

A pair of incoming freshmen will round out the list of current K-State golfers in the field as Thomas Birdsey (69) of Trophy Club, Texas, and Tyler Norris (72) of Manhattan, Kan., were each able to qualify as well.

Several former Wildcat golfers also qualified for the event, with Joe Ida, a graduating senior from this past season, being exempted into the field after advancing to the semifinals of last year's Kansas Amateur held at Kansas City CC. Tyler Cummins (Class of 2006) earned his spot by shooting a 69 during qualifying.

Mid amateurs with K-State ties that successfully qualified are Sean Robertson of Salina (Class of 1993) and Prairie Dunes member John Chandler, a Wildcat football player from 1980-83. Zac Burton (Class of 2000), a former Wildcat football player, gained his exemption into the championship by holding the title of current club champion at Prairie Dunes. Randy Vautravers (Class of 1977) of Wichita leads the over 50 set. 

Thirty-six holes of stroke play will be held July 20-21, to trim the field down to 64 for match play. The 36-hole final championship match is scheduled for Sunday, July 26th. All results can be found at

- -