Norris Announces Two-Man Signing Class

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State men’s golf head coach Tim Norris announced the signing of Curtis Yonke and Ben Juffer to National Letters of Intent (NLI) for the 2009-10 season.


“Both Curtis and Ben have excellent fundamentals and real knack for the game and are great students, said Norris. ”That is the fit that we are looking for here. I think they both play pretty similar games and they have both proven themselves on the national level. They are going to come into a great situation next year with four seniors returning and will be able to learn from those guys and hopefully pick up the slack when those seniors leave. I would say that the success we have had this fall has helped to show the direction that we are going and hope to continue.”


Yonke comes to Kansas State with a very impressive resume. He won the Kansas 6A state championship and was chosen The Kansas City Star All-Metro Golfer of the Year as a junior. Yonke was also a recipient of the Kenneth Smith Award, which is given to one female and male golfer that best excels on and off the golf course. Curtis is also the younger brother of former Wildcat golfer Kyle Yonke, who finished his eligibility last season.


“Kyle and Curtis have some similarities,” said Norris. “I think the great part is that Kyle has caddied some for Curtis this summer and Curtis has caddied for his grandfather Jim Colbert on the Senior PGA Tour. Curtis has been around the game a lot and is just starting to hit his own stride.”


Ben Juffer comes to Kansas State from Des Moines, Iowa. A four year varsity letter winner at Dowling Catholic High School, Juffer was named all-conference all four years and earned all-state honors twice.


Juffer had 12 top-20 finishes in national junior golf tournaments during 2007-08. He was named the Iowa PGA Junior Tour Player of the Year in 2007 and also won the Des Moines Junior City tournament in 2007. Juffer boasts top 10 finishes in the Iowa Men’s Amateur at Davenport Country Club and a top 20 finish in the Iowa Masters Men’s Invitational.