K-State Places Six on Academic All-Big 12 Team

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State women’s basketball team placed six players on the 2007 Academic All-Big 12 Women’s Basketball Team, as announced Wednesday by the league office.  K-State led the conference with most selections to the squad.


Juniors Carolyn McCullough and Shana Wheeler and sophomores Marlies Gipson, Shalee Lehning and Danielle Zanottie have been named to the first team while junior Kimberly Dietz was selected to the second team.


Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the academic all-league women’s basketball squad consisted of 33 first team members combined with 13 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.


To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.


McCullough along with Ashley Paris (Oklahoma), Chelsi Welch (Oklahoma) and Brook Baughman (Texas Tech) earned a perfect 4.0 GPA for the semester.