Three Wildcats Earn All-Big 12 Honors

MANHATTAN, Kan. Three Kansas State women’s basketball players earned 2007 All-Big 12 Conference honors in a vote by the league’s coaches Friday.  Senior Claire Coggins was named Second Team All-Conference while sophomore Shalee Lehning earned Honorable Mention and freshman Ashley Sweat was selected to the All-Rookie Team.


Coggins, a 5-foot-11 guard from Lee’s Summit, Mo., was named to the second-team for the second straight season.  She started in all 29 games this season and averaged 13.0 points per game while leading the team in steals (56).  Coggins also had a career best 3.6 rebounds per game.  She posted a team-best 13.7 points per game against Big 12 foes this season.


A preseason All-Big 12 honorable mention selection, Coggins became the 32nd player in Kansas State women’s basketball history to top 1,000 career points as she scored 20 points in the Wildcats’ 48-45 victory over No. 17 Texas A&M on Jan. 6.


Lehning, a 5-foot-9 guard form Sublette, Kan., also started in all 29 games this season.  She led the team in field goal percentage (.532), assists (144) and rebounds (188).  Lehning is the only players in Big 12 Conference to be ranked in the top-15 in rebounds, assists, steals (42), assists/turnover ratio (1.7), defensive rebounds (123) and minutes played (33.3).  She recorded two double-doubles this season and led the Wildcats in rebounding in 12 games and assists in 21 games.


Sweat, a 6-foot-2 forward from McPherson, Kan., appeared in all 29 games while making 15 starts this season.  She averaged 10.5 points and 5.0 rebounds per game while shooting 42.0 percent from the floor and 41.5 percent from the three-point range.  In the final six games of the season, Sweat averaged a team-best 17.2 points.  She is raked among the top freshmen in the Big 12 Conference including second in scoring and third in rebounding.



All-Big 12 First Team: Bernice Mosby (Baylor), Jackie McFarland (Colorado), Lyndsey Medders (Iowa State), EeTisha Riddle (Missouri), Kelsey Griffin (Nebraska), Kiera Hardy (Nebraska), Courtney Paris (Oklahoma), Tiffany Jackson (Texas), A’Quonesia Franklin (Texas A&M) and Takia Starks (Texas A&M).


All-Big 12 Second Team: Angela Tisdale (Baylor), Shaquina Mosley (Kansas), Claire Coggins (Kansas State), Danielle Gant (Texas A&M) and Alesha Robertson (Texas Tech).


All-Big 12 Honorable Mention: Jasmina Ilic (Colorado), Nicky Wieben (Iowa State), Shalee Lehning (Kansas State), Tiffany Brooks and Carlynn Savant (Missouri), Chelsea Aubry (Nebraska), Erin Higgins, Leah Rush and Chelsi Welch (Oklahoma), Danielle Green and Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State) and Patrice Edwards (Texas Tech). 


Big 12 All-Defensive Team: Jhasmin Player (Baylor), Courtney Paris (Oklahoma), Erneisha Bailey (Texas), Danielle Gant (Texas A&M) and La Toya Micheaux (Texas A&M).


Big 12 All-Rookie Team: Danielle Wilson (Baylor), Ashley Sweat (Kansas State), Amanda Thompson (Oklahoma), Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State) and Carla Cortijo (Texas).


Coach of the Year: Gary Blair, Texas A&M

Player of the Year: Courtney Paris, Oklahoma

Newcomer of the Year: Bernice Mosby, Baylor

Freshman of the Year: Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State

Defensive Player of the Year: Courtney Paris, Oklahoma

Sixth Man Award: Danielle Gant, Texas A&M