Sweat Named to All-Big 12 First Team

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State senior forward Ashley Sweat was named to the All-Big 12 first team in an announcement by the Big 12 Conference on Monday afternoon. This is the second straight year Sweat has earned first team honors.

In the 14-year history of the Big 12, K-State has earned 36 citations on the All-Big 12 first, second or honorable mention teams.

Sweat garnered her second career honor by leading K-State and ranking fifth in the Big 12 in scoring with 16.7 points per game. With her 501 points this season, she became the 10th player in school history to record 500 points during her senior campaign and the fifth player to register consecutive 500-point seasons.

The 6-2 product of McPherson, Kan., also leads the Wildcats in free throws made (132), free throws attempted (162) and is second in rebounding (5.1) and blocked shots (17). She ranks sixth in the Big 12 in free throw percentage (.815) and third in minutes played (35.7).

During her senior campaign, Sweat has ascended a number of K-State career lists as she ranks third in scoring with 1,792 points and into 14th in career rebounds with 595. She also ranks in the top-10 in career blocks with 69 to become the third player in school history to record 1,700 points, 500 rebounds and 60 blocks for a career. She also ranks in the top-10 in career free throws made (418) and attempted (538), career field goals made (632) and minutes played (4,020).

Earlier this season, Sweat became the fifth student-athlete in school history to earn CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-America honors. She is also a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, with fan voting continuing at www.seniorclassaward.org until March 22. She also garnered her third career Academic All-Big 12 first team honor.

Kansas State will open the 2010 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Championship on Thursday at 11 a.m., against Texas Tech in Kansas City's Municipal Auditorium. The game can be seen on Metro Sports in the Kansas City-area and on Kansas Now 22 within the state of Kansas to Cox Cable subscribers.

2009-10 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Awards
Coach of the Year: Connie Yori, Nebraska
Player of the Year: Kelsey Griffin, Nebraska
Newcomer of the Year: Danielle Adams, Texas A&M
Freshman of the Year: Brittney Griner, Baylor
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Brittney Griner, Baylor and Yvonne Turner, Nebraska
Sixth Man Award: Bianca Smith, Colorado

All-Big 12 First Team (alphabetical by school)
Player                                      School                     Pos        Ht       Cl        Hometown
Brittney Griner                  Baylor                 C         6-8    Fr      Houston, Texas
Alison Lacey                     Iowa State           G         6-0    Sr     Canberra, Australia
Ashley Sweat^                  Kansas State        F         6-2    Sr     McPherson, Kan.
Kelsey Griffin#+                Nebraska             F         6-2    Sr      Eagle River, Alaska
Cory Montgomery              Nebraska             F         6-2    Sr      Cannon Falls, Minn.
Yvonne Turner                  Nebraska             G         5-8    Sr      Omaha, Neb.
Danielle Robinson^           Oklahoma           G         5-9    Jr      San Jose, Calif.
Amanda Thompson           Oklahoma            F         6-1     Sr     Chicago, Ill.
Andrea Riley^#                 Oklahoma State   G         5-5    Sr     Dallas, Texas
Tanisha Smith                  Texas A&M          G/F        6-0     Sr     Kansas City, Mo.

All-Big 12 Second Team (alphabetical by school)
Danielle McCray^               Kansas              G/F       5-11      Sr        Olathe, Kan.
Nyeshia Stevenson             Oklahoma            F         5-9       Sr        Little Rock, Ark.
Tegan Cunningham            Oklahoma State   F         6-1       Sr        Melbourne, Australia
Brittainey Raven$               Texas                 G         6-0       Sr        Fort Worth, Texas
Danielle Adams                  Texas A&M          F/C       6-1       Jr         Kansas City, Mo.

^ 2008-09 First Team Selection
# 2007-08 First Team Selection
+ 2006-07 First Team Selection
$ 2008-09 Second Team Selection
(Lacey, Griffin, Robinson and Riley unanimous 2009-10 First Team selections)

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention (alphabetical by school)
Kelli Griffin (Baylor), Morghan Medlock (Baylor), Brittany Spears (Colorado), Kelsey Bolte (Iowa State), RaeShara Brown (Missouri), Jessra Johnson (Missouri), Dominique Kelley (Nebraska), Ashleigh Fontenette (Texas), Kathleen Nash (Texas), Sydney Carter (Texas A&M), Jordan Murphree (Texas Tech), Ashlee Roberson (Texas Tech)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team (alphabetical by school)
Player                                      School                 Pos         Ht            Cl        Hometown         
Brittney Griner                  Baylor               C         6-8       Fr         Houston, Texas
Denae Stuckey                 Iowa State         G         5-8       Sr        Kansas City, Mo.
Kelsey Griffin                    Nebraska           F         6-2       Sr        Eagle River, Alaska
Yvonne Turner*~              Nebraska           G         5-8       Sr        Omaha, Neb.
Danielle Robinson~           Oklahoma         G         5-9       Jr         San Jose, Calif.

* 2007-08 Team
~ 2008-09 Team

Big 12 All-Freshman Team (alphabetical by school)
Player                                      School                 Pos             Ht       Cl        Hometown
Brittney Griner                  Baylor               C         6-8       Fr         Houston, Texas
Anna Prins                       Iowa State         C         6-6       Fr         Broomfield, Colo.
Carolyn Davis                   Kansas              F         6-3       Fr         Houston, Texas
Lindsey Moore                  Nebraska           G         5-9       Fr         Covington, Wash.
Cokie Reed                      Texas               C          6-4       Fr         Waco, Texas