Sweat Named Lowe's Senior All-American

SAN ANTONIO, Texas - Kansas State's Ashley Sweat garnered her second All-American honor this season, as she was named to the first team of the Lowe's All-Senior All-America team on April 3. Sweat also earned CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-America third team honors earlier this season.

Sweat is the fourth K-State student-athlete to earn All-America honors from the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award committee (Nicole Ohlde, Kendra Wecker and Shalee Lehning).

The 6-2 product of McPherson, Kan., garnered her second career All-Big 12 first team honor by leading K-State and ranking eighth in the Big 12 in scoring with 16.1 points per game. With her 514 points this season, she became the 10th player in school history to record 500 points during her senior campaign and the fifth player to register consecutive 500-point seasons.

Sweat also led the Wildcats in free throws made (135), free throws attempted (169) and is second in rebounding (5.1) and blocked shots (18). She ranked eighth in the Big 12 in free throw percentage (.799) and third in minutes played (35.6).

During her senior campaign, Sweat ascended a number of K-State career lists as she concluded her career ranked third in scoring with 1,805 points and 14th in career rebounds with 604. She also ranks in the top-10 in career blocks with 70 to become the third player in school history to record 1,800 points, 600 rebounds and 70 blocks for a career. She also ranks in the top-10 in career free throws made (421) and attempted (545), career field goals made (637), minutes played (4,088) and career games played (131).

Capturing the 2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award was Nebraska's Kelsey Griffin. This is the third time a student-athlete from the Big 12 has earned the honor in women's basketball, including Wecker's win during the 2005 season.

All-Senior All-America First Team
Ashley Sweat, Kansas State
Kelsey Griffin, Nebraska
Jayne Appel, Stanford
Alysha Clark, Middle Tennessee State
Ashley Houts, Georgia

All-Senior All-America Second Team
Amy Beggin, New Mexico
Joy Cheek, Duke
Tyra Grant, Penn State
Allison Hightower, LSU
Bianca Thomas, Mississippi