Two Earn Big 12 Post-Grad Scholarships

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State women's basketball student-athlete Ashley Sweat and men's track and field student-athlete Jack Sachse were two of the 24 recipients for the 2009-10 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships in an announcement by the Big 12 Conference on Tuesday.

Sweat, a kinesiology major, concluded her K-State career as the school's third all-time leading scorer with 1,805 points and became the third player in school history to record 1,800 points, 600 rebounds and 70 blocked shots. The native of McPherson, Kan., was named to the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award All-America team in 2010, earned CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-America third team honors in 2010, was a two-time CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District VII selection and a three-time Academic All-Big 12 first team recipient. She was also garnered a pair of All-Big 12 first team citations for her efforts on the court.

Sachse, a social science major, garnered first team academic honors from the Big 12 and was named to the COSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District VII first team. The Ottawa, Kan., product finished fourth in the 800-meter run at the 2010 Big 12 Outdoor Championships and sixth in the same event at the 2010 Big 12 Indoor Championships.

The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services' pioneer who passed away in March 2005. The list of all-time recipients has grown to 249 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution.

To date, the Big 12 has provided $1,655,600 for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999, increased to $6,900 for 2004-05 and climbed to $7,500 in 2006-07.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.500 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee's respective institution and completion of athletics' eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection panel for the awards.