K-State Tabbed for Eighth in Big 12 Poll

MANHATTAN, Kan. After a second straight WNIT semifinal appearance, Kansas State women’s basketball was voted by the league’s coaches for an eighth-place finish in the 2007-08 Big 12 Conference preseason poll announced on Friday morning.


For the second straight season, the Wildcats tied with Texas Tech for its position in the poll as each received 54 points. A season ago, K-State and the Red Raiders tied with 57 points and the seventh position in the poll.


The league’s coaches gave the preseason nod to defending conference co-champion Texas A&M by a 117-115 margin over Oklahoma. The Aggies edged by the Sooners with seven first-place votes compared to Oklahoma’s five. Baylor was selected for third with 97 points, while Texas was tabbed for fourth with 86 points and Oklahoma State rounded out the top-five with 66 points. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.


Each Big 12 head coach and selected student-athletes will appear at the annual Big 12 Basketball Media Day on Tuesday, Oct. 16 in Kansas City - site of the 2008 Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships. Head coach Deb Patterson will be joined by junior guard and All-Big 12 candidate Shalee Lehning at the media day for K-State.


Patterson enters her 12th season on the bench for K-State by returning four starters and eight letterwinners, including Lehning and sophomore forward and 2007 All-Big 12 Rookie selection Ashley Sweat. K-State also welcomes in four newcomers to a team that finished 19-15 and reached the WNIT semifinals in 2006-07.


The Wildcats will tip-off the season on Nov. 1 at 7 p.m., with an exhibition contest in Bramlage Coliseum against Washburn University. For season and individual ticket information, please contact (800) 221-CATS or visit www.kstatesports.com.


2007-08 Big 12 Conference Women’s Basketball Preseason Poll

  1.     Texas A&M (7)         117

  2.     Oklahoma (5)            115

  3.     Baylor                        97

  4.     Texas                        86

  5.     Oklahoma State         66

  6.     Iowa State                  64

  7.     Nebraska                   56

  8.     Kansas State             54

  8.     Texas Tech                54

10.     Kansas                      43

11.     Colorado                    29

12.     Missouri                     11

(first place votes in parentheses; coaches not allowed to vote for their own team)