Lehning Named Wooden Award Candidate

MANHATTAN, Kan. Kansas State senior guard Shalee Lehning has been named to the 2008-09 Preseason Wooden Award watch list in an announcement by Wooden Award Chairman and founder, Richard Llewellyn. The preseason watch list consists of 30 student-athletes from 25 schools and 10 conferences.

In mid-January, the Wooden Award Committee will release the Midseason Top 20 list, followed in March by the National Ballot, consisting of approximately 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. The Women's Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the "Elite Eight" round during the NCAA Tournament.

Lehning, a 2008 All-Big 12 first team selection, a 2008-09 All-Big 12 preseason first team selection and 2008-09 All-American candidate, enters her senior year on the cusp of setting the school record for career assists. She currently ranks second with 571 assists and needs 19 assists to pass Megan Mahoney (2001-05; 589) for the top spot. Lehning also will climb the ranks of the career rebounds (703; 9th), career steals (187; 7th) and career points (868; 35th) charts.

Following a 2008 season which saw Lehning average 11.3 points per game, 7.6 rebounds and 6.3 assists, she was recognized by a number of media outlets for her effort. Organizations to honor Lehning included: WBCA Region V All-America finalist, Kansas City Star co-Player of the Year and All-Big 12 first team and the Waco Tribune All-Big 12 second team. Lehning was also exceptional in the classroom as she was named to the Academic All-Big 12 first team and to the CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District VII third team.

Kansas State opens the 2008-09 season on Friday at UTEP, and begin the home portion of its schedule on Sunday, Nov. 23, against UTSA at 1 p.m. For ticket information, visit www.kstatesports.com or call (800) 221-CATS.

About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), and last year's recipients, Kevin Durant of Texas and Candace Parker of Tennessee (`07 and `08).

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All-American recipients as well as sent over 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the awards name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All-Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on the Friday prior to the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

The Race for the Wooden Award is on! Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by logging on to www.WOODENAWARD.com. For more information on the John R. Wooden Award, please contact the Wooden Award staff via phone at 213-630-5231 or email at woodenaward@laac.net.

2008-09 Preseason Wooden Award Watch List
Shalee Lehning, Sr., G, Kansas State
Jessica Adair, Sr., C/F, George Washington
Jayne Appel, Jr., F/C, Stanford
Chante Black, Sr., F/C, Duke
DeWanna Bonner, Sr., G, Auburn
Heather Bowman, Jr., F, Gonzaga
Tina Charles, Jr., C, Connecticut
Marissa Coleman, Sr., G, Maryland
Allyssa DeHaan, Jr., C, Michigan State
Krystal Ellis, Sr., G, Marquette
Rachele Fitz, Jr., F, Marist
Devanei Hampton, Sr., F/C, California
Ashley Houts, Jr., G, Georgia
Jareica Hughes, Jr., G, UTEP
Jantel Lavender, So., C, Ohio State
Rashanda McCants, Sr., G/F, North Carolina
Angel McCoughtry, Sr., F, Louisville
Renee Montgomery, Sr., G, Connecticut
Maya Moore, So., F, Connecticut
Courtney Paris, Sr., C, Oklahoma
Ta’shia Phillips, So., C, Xavier
Epiphany Prince, Jr., G,  Rutgers
Andrea Riley, Jr., G, Oklahoma State
Takia Starks, Sr., G, Texas A&M
Kristi Toliver, Sr., G, Maryland
Kia Vaughn, Sr., C, Rutgers
Ashley Walker, Sr., F, California
Christina Wirth, Sr., F, Vanderbilt
Monica Wright, Jr., G, Virginia
Shavonte Zellous, Sr., G, Pittsburgh