12 Wildcats Named to Academic All-Big 12 Team

IRVING, Texas. - The Kansas State equestrian team had 12 riders named to the Academic All-Big 12 Equestrian team in an announcement by the conference on Tuesday. The Wildcats had nine first-team selections and three second-team selections.

Seniors Karsen Brown, Katie DeLano, Libby Tudor and Madison Wayda, juniors Kara Guy and Nicholle Hatton, along with sophomores Henley Adkins, Alyssa Lombardi and Christina Martinelli all earned first-team honors. Brown was one of the four in the Big 12 Team to maintain a 4.0 GPA. This is Wayda's third time being named to Academic All-Big 12 Equestrian First Team.

Senior Savannah Smith and sophomores Sydney Anson and Gretchen Koenen were named to the second team. Along with Wayda, Smith has now earned her third Academic All-Big 12 Second Team honors.

"We are really proud to have 12 girls represent the team on the 2015 Academic All-Big 12 Equestrian Team. They are students before they are athletes," said head coach Casie Maxwell. "Our priority is for them to excel in the classroom and our girls take advantage of their resources very well to be academically successful. I am glad to see them reaping the benefits of all their hard work."

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

K-State travels to Springtown, Texas this week for the Big 12 Championship where they will be the No. 3 seed. The Wildcats will face the No. 2 seed Oklahoma State in the first round with the winner advancing on to compete against the winner of TCU and Baylor for the championship.