16 Wildcats Named to Academic All-Big 12 Team

Sam Etsell

March 26, 2013

IRVING, Texas.-  The Kansas State equestrian team placed 16 riders on the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 Team, including nine on the first team, in an announcement by the Big 12 office on Tuesday. K-State doubled its total honorees from last season.

Seniors Sam Etsell, Meredith Finch, Katie Haukos, Larissa Laffey and Karen Riley, juniors Jordan Cox, Jesse Johnson and Rachel Webster and sophomore Madison Wayda all earned first team honors. Laffey, Cox and Webster made the first team last season.

The Wildcats also placed seven riders on the second team. Senior Kali Yates, juniors Shana Barnett, Jacquelyn Bogstad, Amelia Crites, Chayna DeNicolo, Rachel Wetherell and sophomore Savannah Smith also picked up Big 12 honors. Bogstad, DeNicolo and Wetherell also earned honors last season.

Head coach Casie Maxwell was pleased to see the efforts that her athletes put forth in the classroom are being recognized.

“I am very proud of our athletes who qualified for the Academic All Big 12 Team,” said Maxwell. “They are students first and their academics are a priority. We push them to excel in both the classroom and the arena and it is an honor for them to be able to receive recognition in both areas.”

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher (either cumulative or the two previous semesters) and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

K-State travels to Stillwater, Okla., this weekend to compete in the Big 12 Championship. The team will face off against TCU in the first round, with the winner advancing on to compete against the winner of Oklahoma State and Baylor for the championship.