NCEA Announces Championship Seeding

March 31, 2014

K-State Athletics

WACO, Texas – The National Collegiate Equestrian Association (NCEA) announced the selection and seeding for the 2014 NCEA Championship on Monday. Kansas State was picked as the No. 5 seed and will face No. 12 Texas A&M in the opening round, with the winner going on to face No. 4 Auburn.

Beginning with the 2014 championship, the top-12 overall teams (Western and Hunt Seat combined) are invited to compete. The NCEA Selection Committee determines and invites these teams based on a number of factors throughout the season. K-State narrowly missed one of the top-four seeds, which receive opening round byes. The top-four seeds in the 2014 NCEA Championship are: No. 1 South Carolina, No. 2 Oklahoma State, No. 3 Georgia and No. 4 Auburn. The other two Big 12 members, Baylor and TCU are the No. 6 and No. 9 seeds, respectively.

Last season, K-State's Western team took home the Reserve National Championship. The Wildcats are coming off of a third-place finish at the 2014 Big 12 Championship.

The NCEA Championship takes place April 17-19 in Waco, Texas at the Extraco Events Center.

2014 NCEA Opening-Round Match-Ups
(5) Kansas State vs. (12) Texas A&M (winner faces (4) Auburn)
(6) Baylor vs. (11) UT-Martin (winner faces (3) Georgia)
(7) New Mexico State vs. (10) SMU (winner faces (2) Oklahoma State)
(8) Fresno State vs. (9) TCU (winner faces (1) South Carolina)

Seeding For 2014 NCEA Championship
1. South Carolina
2. Oklahoma State
3. Georgia
4. Auburn
5. Kansas State
6. Baylor
7. New Mexico State
8. Fresno State
9. TCU
10. SMU
11. UT-Martin
12. Texas A&M