K-State Seeded Ninth for NCEA Championship

2015 NCEA Championship bracket Get Acrobat Reader

WACO, Texas - The National Collegiate Equestrian Association (NCEA) announced on Tuesday the selection and seeding for the 2015 NCEA Championship. Kansas State was picked as the No. 9 seed and will face No. 8 SMU in the opening round, with the winner advancing to face No. 1 Georgia.

Beginning with the 2015 championship, the top-12 overall teams (Western and Hunt Seat combined) are invited to compete. The NCEA Selection Committee determines and invites these teams based on a number of factors throughout the season. The top-four seeds receive opening round byes.

The top-four seeds in the 2015 NCEA Championship are: No. 1 Georgia, No. 2 Baylor, No. 3 South Carolina and No. 4 Texas A&M. All four Big 12 teams are making an appearance in the Championship, as TCU is the No. 7 seed and Oklahoma State is the No. 10 seed behind the Wildcats.

Last season, K-State defeated Texas A&M by an 8-7 decision in the first round of the National Championship, but fell to Auburn in the quarterfinals, 12-3.

The Wildcats look to carry over the momentum of their second-place finish at the 2015 Big 12 Championship into the NCEA Championship competition, which takes place April 16-18 in Waco, Texas at the Extraco Events Center.

Opening-Round Matchups
(8) SMU vs. (9) Kansas State
(5) Auburn vs. (12) UT-Martin
(6) Fresno State vs. (11) New Mexico State
(7) TCU vs. (10) Oklahoma State

2015 NCEA Championship Seeds
1. Georgia
2. Baylor
3. South Carolina
4. Texas A&M
5. Auburn
6. Fresno State
7. TCU
8. SMU
9. Kansas State
10. Oklahoma State
11. New Mexico State
12. UT-Martin