Wildcats Named March Rider of the Month

WACO, Texas -The Big Conference announced on Thursday its March Riders of the Month honors, with Kansas State's Henley Adkins and Danielle Kemper each earning an accolade for the Wildcats. Adkins received her award in Equitation over Fences, while Kemper claimed the Horsemanship award.

Adkins, a Moorpark, California, native has compiled a 17-15 record with six Most Outstanding Player (MOP) awards in Hunt Seat this season. Adkins, a recent NCEA All-America Second Team selection, helped K-State win fences against Oklahoma State in the semifinals of the Big 12 Championship with a 160-158 individual victory. Adkins finished the Big 12 Championships with an overall high score of 160 against OSU in the first round and the second highest score in the head-to-head for the Big 12 title against Baylor, 171.

This is Adkins's second Big 12 Rider of the Month honor this season, after earning the Big 12 award for Equitation on the Flat in September. Adkins received All-Big 12 honors in Equitation over Fences and Equitation on the Flat following the Big 12 Championship. Adkins also was named one of the four Big 12 Equestrian 2015 Riders of the Year in Equitation on the Flat.

Kemper, a Gilbert, Arizona, product had an outstanding regular season. Kemper, also an NCEA All-America Second Team honoree, went undefeated in the Big 12 Championship while advancing her season record to 11-3-1 with two MOP accolades. At the conclusion of the Big 12 Championships, the league recognized Kemper as she was named an All-Big 12 recipient in Horsemanship.

Joining Adkins in her Rider of the Month was Baylor rider Sam Schaefer (Equitation Over Fences), Kaitlin Perry of TCU (Equitation on the Flat), Megan McMullen of TCU shared honors with Kemper (Horsemanship) and Oklahoma State rider Katy Krshka (Reining).

The Wildcats preparation time for the 2015 NCEA National Championship is winding down. The Championship takes place April 16-18 at the Extraco Events Center in Waco, Texas. The Wildcats will take on SMU in the first round.