Equestrian Hands Out 2007-08 Awards

MANHATTAN, Kan. The Kansas State equestrian team handed out its yearly team awards recently at the program’s end of the year banquet, highlighted by Western Most Valuable Player Alyssa Freeman and English Most Valuable Player Whitney Snyder.


Freeman led all Wildcat riders with 24 varsity wins and picked up five of those wins at the VENC. Snyder led all English riders with 19 varsity wins and was selected as a team captain for the 2008-09 season.


Along with Snyder, three other Wildcat riders were selected as captains for next season including sophomore Tara Hallan, junior Alden Haugh and junior Leslie Yates.


In her first season as a Wildcat, Hallan had a sensational season with an overall record of 9-2-1. Yates provided the English squad with 15 varsity wins and MVP performances against UT-Martin and Baylor. Haugh qualified to compete in the regional competition at Northern Illinois on April 5, placing fourth overall in Advanced Walk Trot Canter.


Ten seniors who have performed for the final time as a Wildcat were also honored at the event as well as numerous other outstanding riders.


K-State finished the season third in the nation in Western and fifth nationally overall at the 2008 Varsity Equestrian National Championships.


2007-08 Equestrian Awards

Workhorse of the Year:

English - Lindsey Morford

Western - Sarah Riggs


Most Improved:

W - Valerie Dysart

E - Kayla Potter


Most Devoted:

W - Nicole Keenan

E - Paige Sullivan



E Kim Buran

W Erica Mackiewicz


English Most Outstanding:

Freshman: Julie Wolfert

Sophomores: Ashley Collett and Kendall Marvin

Junior: Leslie Yates

Senior: Lindsay Cook


Western Most Outstanding:

Freshman: Alecia Zimbelman

Sophomores: Laura Browne and Kaylee Stout

Junior: Jana Lechtenberg

Senior: Lindsey Salsbury


Most Valuable Player:

W Alyssa Freeman

E Whitney Snyder


Captain Recognition:

Outgoing: Jenny Giraldin, Lindsey Salsbury, Leanne Thompson, Leslie Yates

Incoming (2008-2009): Tara Hallan, Alden Haugh, Whitney Snyder, Leslie Yates


Senior Recognition:

Lindsay Cook

Nicolle Harkness

Sarah Jackson

Lindsey Morford

Sarah Riggs

Lindsey Salsbury

Leanne Thompson

Juliann Todd

Dana Totten

Emily Wolfe


Weightlifters of the Year:

Lindsay Cook

Jana Lechtenberg

Leanne Thompson