K-State Ends Fall Season In Stillwater

Rachel Webster

Nov. 14, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The No. 5 Kansas State equestrian team finishes the fall season on Saturday, as the Wildcats (6-1, 2-0 Big 12) travel to Stillwater, Okla., for a showdown with No. 6 Oklahoma State. The meet is expected to begin at 9 a.m.

K-State is looking to extend its winning streak, which currently sits at six wins. Head coach Casie Maxwell foresees a tough road challenge this weekend.

“Playing OSU at home is going to be a big challenge and one we have been preparing for all season,” Maxwell said. “Our team is riding really well and we just need to get out on the road and perform like we have at home.”

The Wildcats are coming off its closest win of the season, after defeating TCU, 9-7, on November 2.

The Hunter Seat team has been dominating opponents all season. In the six wins this season, they have outscored opponents, 42-12. Junior Captain Rachel Webster is one of the many reasons why the Wildcats have been so strong.

Competing in both Equitation Over Fences and Equitation on the Flats, the junior has compiled a record of 12-2 while earning three Most Outstanding Performer (MOP) honors. Senior captain Meredith Finch has a flawless record, currently sitting at 7-0 on the year while earning in MOP. Seniors Kali Yates and Larissa Laffey have provided extra veteran leadership, holding records of 9-2 and 7-0, respectively.

The Western team will look to finish the season strong. Senior captain Sam Etsell will look to add another win to her resume, as she sits at 4-2. Junior captain Kelly Bovaird will be seeking her fifth win of the season as well. The horsemanship expert is undefeated on the season with a record of 4-0-2.
For complete results and coverage, be sure to check with www.kstatesports.com.

Cat Avolese
Shana Barnett
Larissa Laffey
Madison Wayda
Rachel Webster
Kali Yates
EXH – Katie Haukos
Jacquelyn Bogstad
Meredith Finch
Larissa Laffey
Madison Wayda
Rachel Webster
Kali Yates
EXH – Laura Lafnitzegger
Kelly Bovaird
Amelia Crites
Chayna DeNicolo
Hannah Ribera
Whitney Unkefer
Rachel Wetherell
EXH – Danielle Kemper
Reining – EXH rider to be determined
Jordan Cox
Sam Etsell
Kara Guy
Kayla Hillegass
Jesse Johnson
Savannah Smith
Emily Stockford