Wildcats Set to Defend Colbert Hills

THE FORMAT:  The 2007 Marilynn Smith/Sunflower Invitational, hosted by Kansas State, begins Monday, Oct. 1, with 36 holes and finishes Tuesday, Oct. 2, with the final 18. Both days will begin at 8:30 a.m. with shotgun starts, and Tuesday’s final round pairings will be determined by the two rounds played Monday. The low four individual scores will determine the team score for each round.


THE FIELD:  Despite placing second to Texas State in the 2007 Chip-N-Club Invitational, K-State holds a 6-4 record against the field. The 13-team field includes Arkansas-Little Rock, Creighton, Evansville, Illinois State, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Nebraska, North Texas, Redlands CC, Southern Mississippi, Texas State and Wichita State.


THE HOST Colbert Hills Golf Club: Co-designed by both Senior PGA golfer Jim Colbert and golf course architect Jeff Brauer, the par 72, 6,157-yard championship course has been the home course of the K-State men and women since opening in May 2000. Colbert Hills has hosted numerous collegiate men’s and women’s tournaments, including the NCAA Men’s Central Regional in May 2003, and most recently the 2007 Jim Colbert Intercollegiate, held Sept. 24-25. The course was rated as the 6th-best college course in the country by Golfweek.


LAST TIME OUT: The Wildcats went west to Highlands Ranch, Colo., Sept. 17-18 for the Ron Moore Intercollegiate in their second tournament of the season. K-State finished in 16th place after rounds of 310-315-309934 (+70). Kali Quick tied for 36th after a final tally of 14-over par 230. Hailey Mireles was second on the team and tied for 50th overall with an 18-over par 234. Michelle Regan and Abbi Sunner finished in a tie for 57th after both shooting 19-over par 235. Krista Nelson was tied for 79th with a two-day total of 243 (+27).


HOME SWEET HOME:  Colbert Hills has been very kind to the Wildcats in their last two appearances on their home course. The 2003 Marilynn Smith/Sunflower Invitational saw K-State win the team championship. Five Wildcats finished in the top 20 en route to a team score of 925, good enough for a 10-stroke advantage over Big 12 rival Nebraska in second place. Then, in the 2005 Marilynn Smith/Sunflower Invitational, K-State finished in third place in the 12-team field, and Helene Robert was the individual tournament champion after posting a 1-under par 215.



Name                           Yr     Hometown               07-08 Rds   07-08 Avg

Michelle Regan              Sr     Prairie Village, Kan.        6              76.50

Abbi Sunner                  So     Ankeny, Iowa                 6              76.33

Kali Quick                     Sr     Nampa, Idaho                 6              75.00

Hailey Mireles               Sr      Garden City, Kan.           6              78.67

Morgan Moon                So     Amarillo, Texas              3              81.00

*Krista Nelson               Jr      Overland Park, Kan.        6              81.67

*Emily Houtz                 Fr      Manhattan, Kan.             -                  -

*Elise Houtz                  Fr      Manhattan, Kan.             -                  -

* playing as an individual


fall Preview of the Wildcats: K-State loses two players from last year due to graduation in Helene Robert and Katy Heffel, but head coach  Kristi Knight looks to have an experienced squad in 2007-2008. The Wildcats will be lead by the senior trio of Hailey Mireles, Kali Quick and Michelle Regan. Mireles played in every tournament a year ago and owned a 78.38 stroke average along with a pair of top-20 finishes. Quick competed in seven tournaments last year, including a season best 13th-place appearance at the NMSU Invitational, and posted a 78.84 stroke average. Regan had season-high fourth-place showing at the Badger Invitational last year and led the Wildcats in stroke average at 76.54. Coach Knight will also look to junior Krista Nelson and sophomores Abbi Sunner and Morgan Moon, as well as incoming freshmen twins Emily and Elise Houtz, to field a competitive squad in the 2007-2008 season.