Wildcats Overcome Conditions to Row Strong

MANHATTAN, Kan. - The Kansas State rowing team put together a series of solid racing at the Head of the Iowa on Sunday despite poor conditions following flooding on the course. The Wildcats faced ranked opponents in host Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin and the First Varsity 8+ improved its performance the Hawkeyes from earlier in the season.

Coach Patrick Sweeney said he was pleased with the performances from his 1V and 2V boats and added the Wildcats have already made strides toward improvement for the spring sprint season.

In the Novice 8+ event, the Wildcats overcame early mistakes with their stroke to close strong and come away with second place. K-State's novice crew closed in on Minnesota in the first half of the race but saw the Golden Gophers pull ahead as the Wildcats got out of synch. K-State was able to recover from the lapse and passed Minnesota down the stretch to finish second in the race behind Iowa.

The Wildcats are now finished with their fall schedule and will return to the water for the spring sprint season in March when they will open with a dual race against Alabama before heading to the Longhorn Invitational.


Varsity 8+ K-State Boats

6th: 1V 12:44.276

9th: 2V 13:23.25

11th: 3V 13:54

Novice 8+ top three

1st: Iowa 13:13.222

2nd: K-State 14:02.796

3rd: Minnesota 14:11.629

K-State Boatings

1st Varsity

Coxswain: Weatherly Butler

Starboard: Anna Young

7: Hanna Wiltfong

6: Christa Bowman

5: Amanda Weishaar

4: Traci Smiley

3: Nicole Vogt

2: Jayci McKenney

B: Melissa Steen

2nd Varsity

C: Weatherly Jackson

S: Sierra Cuda

7: Kylie Hanson

6: Nicole Burdiek

5: Ali Peters

4: Jackie Swab

3: Paula Wortman

2: Stephanie Carr

B: Heather Crichton

3rd Varsity

C: Kaitlyn Arrow

S: Amanda Keim

7: Diane Creviston

6: Alyssa Sams

5: Casey Bell

4: Melanie Rogers

3: Sarah Yocum

2: Michelle Bergman

B: Sarah Murdoch

1st Novice

C: Samantha McCloud

S: Justine Walsh

7: Bethany Johnson

6: Adria Ley

5: Morrisa Rumage

4: Tricia Walker

3: Danielle Glynn

2: Nicole Stuckey

B: Kaitlyn Saathoff

- k-statesports.com -