43 Rowers Earn C-USA Academic Honors

March 28, 2012

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Kansas State rowing team placed 46 student-athletes on the Conference USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll during the 2011-12 academic year. A conference record 2,433 student-athletes earned the recognition for maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The conference office also announced the recipients of the Commissioner’s Academic Medal awarded to student-athletes with cumulative GPAs of 3.75 or higher. A total of 538 C-USA student-athletes received the honor with 15 of them K-State rowers.

The following K-State rowers were named to the C-USA Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll: Kaitlyn Arrow, Laura Baumgartner, Alyse Bronder, Nicole Burdiek, Weatherly Butler, Marissa Campbell, Korinn Card, Kynsey Creel, Sierra Cuda, Elizabeth DeMars, Allison Dorau, Emily Elliott, Allison Franken, Danielle Glynn, Natalie Green, Madalyn Haney, Lauren Hartzell, Hayley Harvey, Lea Hauldren, Brittany Leathers, Adria Ley, Megan Murray, Anna Nusser, Brittany Odle, Kara Omo, Ali Peters, Karlee Rainbolt, Erin Roeser, Lindsey Schmeidler, Lauren Schumaker, Traci Smiley, Jennifer Smisek, Myriah Smith, Samantha Snell, Ashley Standage, Nicole Stuckey, Allison Truxhorn, Kendra Unruh, Justine Walsh, Abigail Weaver, Amanda Weishaar, Hanna Wiltfong and Anna Young.

A total of 15 of these student-athletes also received the Commissioner’s Academic Medal: Arrow, Butler, Demars, Dorau, Franken, Hartzel, Hauldren, Murray, Nusser, Rainbolt, Schmeidler, Smisek, Standage, Weaver and Weishaar.

K-State is an affiliate of C-USA for rowing only joining the conference in 2010 along with Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas from the Big 12. Alabama and Tennessee also joined C-USA for rowing from the SEC to give C-USA a total of nine schools competing in rowing.