47 Rowers Make Conference USA Academic Honor Roll

April 11, 2013

Complete C-USA Release

The Kansas State rowing team has seen success on the water and in the classroom this year and 47 members of the team were recognized for their academic work on Thursday by being named to the Conference USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll for the 2012-13 academic year. A conference record 2,538 student-athletes earned the recognition for maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The following K-State rowers were named to the C-USA Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll: Katie Arrow, Aly Bronder, McKenzie Christian, Kynsey Creel, Sierra Cuda, Alexis Cunningham, Elizabeth DeMars, Megan Dickinson, Allison Dorau, Noelle Dykmann, Kelsey Eagleman, Mary Rose Eakes, Courtney Faucett, Allison Franken, Hannah Frith, Danielle Glynn, Natalie Greene, Madalynn Haney, Ellen Harley, Hayley Harvey, Caroline Kaufman, Kerry Kennedy, Jessica Kuhlman, Meaghan Kuzmich, Adria Ley, Brittany Long, Samantha McCloud, Katie Mulich, Megan Murray, Kristen Murry, Anna Nusser, Kara Omo, Allison Paul, Sarah Pennington, Rachel Plotas, Karlee Rainbolt, Miranda Rickel, Taylor Scantlin, Hillary Schartz, Lindsey Schmeidler, Jennifer Smisek, Ashley Standage, Elizabeth Stricker, Arian Thompson, Allison Tuxhorn, Justine Walsh and Abigail Weaver.

Conference USA will announce recipients of the Commissioner’s Academic Medal on Friday. Student-athletes with a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or higher receive the conference’s top academic award. Last year, 15 K-State Wildcats received that award.

K-State is an affiliate of C-USA for rowing only joining the conference in 2010 along with Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas from the Big 12. Alabama and Tennessee also joined C-USA for rowing from the SEC to give C-USA a total of nine schools competing in rowing.