44 Rowers Earn C-USA Academic Honors

Whitley Jackson

April 14, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Kansas State rowing team placed 44 student-athletes on the Conference USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll during the 2010-11 academic year. A conference record 2,278 student-athletes earned the recognition for maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The conference office also announced the recipients of the Commissioner’s Academic Medal awarded to student-athletes with cumulative GPAs of 3.75 or higher. A total of 485 C-USA student-athletes received the honor with 11 of them K-State rowers.

The following K-State rowers were named to the C-USA Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll: Kaitlyn Arrow, Anna Baughan, Rebecca Bohling, Christa Bowman, Alyse Bronder, Kaycee Brown, Alex Burden, Nicole Burdiek, Weatherly Butler, Marissa Campbell, Kynsey Creel, Sierra Cuda, Elizabeth Demars, Allison Dorau, Haley Fairbank, Lacey Farley, Danielle Glynn, Natalie Green, Kayla Hambleton, Abigail Harbour, Hayley Harvey, Lea Hauldren, Whitley Jackson, Mayabeth Jagosz, Courtney Langley, Adria Ley, Samantha McCloud, Jayci McKenney, Megan Murray, Brittany Odle, Jordan Ricklefs, Kaitlyn Saathoff, Hillary Schartz, Lauren Schumaker, Traci Smiley, Jennifer Smisek, Myriah Smith, Melissa Steen, Nicole Stuckey, Brandy Tholstrup, Katherine Volle, Abigail Weaver, Amanda Weishaar, Hanna Wiltfong.

A total of 11 of these student-athletes also received the Commissioner’s Academic Medal: Baughan, Bohling, Demars, Dorau, Hauldren, Jackson, McCloud, Smisek, Tholstrup, Weaver and Weishaar.

K-State is an affiliate of C-USA for rowing only joining the conference last year along with Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas from the Big 12. Alabama and Tennessee also joined C-USA for rowing from the SEC last year to give C-USA a total of nine schools competing in rowing.