Twelve Rowers Named CRCA National Scholar Athletes

MANHATTAN, Kan. Twelve members of the Kansas State women’s rowing team have been named 2007 CRCA National Scholar Athletes, as announced Tuesday by Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association.


Junior Bjai Rice earned the honor for the second straight season while senior Kaci Williams, juniors Melissa Cessna, Kate Dillon and Magda Hart-Schwartz, sophomores Danna Davidson, Heather Hoffman, Michael Knoll, Julia Roque and Liz Walter and freshmen Kris Richman and Nicole Vogt were all named for the first time.


The scholar athlete award annually recognizes student-athletes with a 3.5 cumulative GPA or better, who is in her second, third or fourth year of eligibility and have competed in 75 percent of the team’s 2007 spring races and have been nominated by their head coaches who are good standing members of the CRCA.


A total of 389 student-athletes from 50 NCAA Division I schools were honored for their efforts during the 2006-07 season. K-State led the Central Region and Big 12 Conference with most selections.