Smiley Named to CRCA All-Region Team

Traci Smiley

May 24, 2012

CRCA All-Region Teams

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced its all-region awards and teams this week, and Kansas State Wildcat Traci Smiley was recognized for the second year in a row. Smiley was named to the CRCA Central All-Region Second Team. Last season, Smiley was honored with the same award by the coaches association, and this year’s award marks the sixth time in K-State history a rower has been named to the CRCA All-Region Team.

Smiley helped K-State’s 1st Varsity 8 to a sixth-place finish at the Conference USA Rowing Championship and third at this year’s Big 12 Championship. The 1V8 also finished fourth at this year’s Southern Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championship making the grand final in a deep and talented field. Smiley is a three-time letterwinner for the Wildcats and has garnered multiple academic awards during her career as well. She also earned All-Conference USA honors for the second times this season for her efforts at the conference championship regatta.

Smiley is the first Wildcat to receive All-Central Region honors twice. Jennifer Flannigan was named to the team in 2009 as well as Bjai Rice (2008), Megan Hauver (2006) and Grace Riekenberg (2005) as Wildcats to also be named to the CRCA All-Central Region Team. Smiley is one of 10 student-athletes from schools representing Conference USA to make an All-Region team.

With the All-Region teams, the CRCA recognizes the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains from each of the five regions with first and second teams named to each. Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team’s regional finish, coaches’ recommendations and 2,000-meter erg scores. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their team’s varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season. All-America teams will be announced following the NCAA Championship this weekend held on Lake Mercer in West Windsor, N.J.

2012 CRCA All-Central Region Team
First Team
Asja Zero, Indiana
Annemarie Bernhard, Iowa
Emily Eiffert, Michigan
Lindsey Healy, Michigan
Felice Mueller, Michigan
Colleen Macke, Michigan, coxswain
Michelle Neuder, Michigan State
Molly Kalmoe, Minnesota
Molly Bruggeman, Notre Dame
Ulrike Denker,Ohio State
Emily Walsh, Ohio State
Vanessa Kleiss, Wisconsin
Kate Mansfield, Wisconsin

Second Team
Traci Smiley, Kansas State
Julia Darnton, Michigan
Breanne Walkowiak, Michigan State
Amanda McGeachie, Michigan State, coxswain
Morgan Kelley, Notre Dame
Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State
Allison Elber, Ohio State
Rachel Buchholtz, Wisconsin