11 Wildcats Earn CRCA Scholar-Athlete Award

May 29, 2014

CRCA Full ReleaseK-State AthleticsMANHATTAN, Kan. - The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced the 2014 National Scholar-Athlete Award recipients this past week with 11 K-State rowers making the grade. This marks the fifth-straight season K-State has had at least nine rowers earn the accolade.

Leading the way for the Wildcats was Allison Dorau (Elementary Education), who was named Scholar-Athlete for a third-straight year. Ally Franken (Civil Engineering), Meggie Murray (Dietetics), Kara Omo (Kinesiology), Jennifer Smisek (Business) and Abby Weaver (Mechanical Engineering) earned the honor for a second-straight year, while Mary Rose Eakes (Secondary Education), Madi Haney (Kinesiology), Jessica Kuhlman (Kinesiology), Brittany Long (Psychology) and Ariana Thompson (Open Option) rounded out the group as first-time winners.

To be named a CRCA National Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must hold a cumulative 3.5 grade point average or higher for her career through the fall semester of the current competition year. They must meet all eligibility requirements by their respective institution and be in at least their second year of eligibility. The student-athlete must have also participated in 75 percent of the team's spring races or in a regional conference event and the team's head coach must be a member of good standing with the CRCA.