K-State Receives ITA National Team Sportsmanship Award

Petra Niedermayerova and the Wildcats garnered the ITA's National Team Sportsmanship Award for April on Wednesday

April 10, 2013

MANHATTAN, Kan. – In an announcement from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) on Wednesday, Kansas State was named the ITA National Team Sportsmanship Award for the month of April.

"There are so many teams out there that compete hard with great sportsmanship, for ours to be recognized like this is truly an honor,” stated head coach Steve Bietau regarding the honor.

The ITA National Team Sportsmanship Award is a monthly award that goes to one men's and one women's team that has exemplified outstanding sportsmanship, character and ethical conduct in the true spirit of competition and collegiate tennis. The winners are selected by the ITA Ethics and Infractions Committee from nominations received from all ITA member institutions (NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community Colleges). This monthly award began in 2004.

The K-State roster features two players who have been recognized for their sportsmanship on the court during their careers. Senior Ana Gomez Aleman and junior Petra Niedermayerova, in separate seasons, earned the Mulcahy Sportsmanship Award at the Milwaukee Tennis Classic in consecutive Septembers in 2010 and 2011.

No. 50 K-State returns to the Sunflower State this weekend to begin a four-match home stand to close out the 2013 regular season schedule. The Wildcats will host No. 15 Texas Tech on Friday, April 12, at 1 p.m., and No. 29 Texas on Saturday, April 13, at 1 p.m. The matches are scheduled to be played outdoors at the Wamego Recreation Complex in Wamego, Kan., and are free and open to the public.