Niedermayerova Selected for 4th NCAA Appearance

April 30, 2014

K-State Athletics

MANHATTAN, Kan. – For the first time in school history, Kansas State women’s tennis will have a singles player represent the school in four straight NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Singles Championships, as senior Petra Niedermayerova was selected by the NCAA on Wednesday evening for the 2014 championship. Niedermayerova will compete in the event, held this season in Athens, Ga., on May 21-26 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex.

Niedermayerova, one of the 49 at-large selections along with 15 automatic qualifiers to the field and one of six selected from the Big 12, owns a career record of 4-3 in her previous three NCAA Division I Singles Championship appearances and has reached the Round of 16 in her previous two appearances.

led the Wildcats from the top of the singles lineup this season with a 24-9 overall record.

Ranked No. 51 in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) national singles rankings as of April 22, Niedermayerova has led the Wildcats from the top of the singles lineup with a 24-9 overall record with a 7-5 record against ITA ranked opponents and a 15-5 mark this spring. Her 24 wins this season ranked tied for fifth in school history for singles wins in a season.

Niedermayerova, a two-time ITA All-American and three-time All-Big 12 selection, owns a career record of 104-42 (.712) which is the school record for career singles victories and marks the first time a K-State player has surpassed the 100-win threshold in their career. Her .712 winning percentage ranks second in school history. In dual match action, Niedermayerova is 66-19 in her career with all matches coming from the number one position in the K-State lineup.

The 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Singles Championship draws will be announced on May 21, depending on the results of the team championship.

Kansas State Individual Selections to the NCAA Championships (All-time)
Karina Kuregian, 1995
Yana Dorodnova, 1998
Alena Jecminkova, 2000, 2001, 2002
Petra Niedermayerova, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014