Niedermayerova Selected for NCAA Championships

Petra Niedermayerova

May 4, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Kansas State freshman Petra Niedermayerova will continue her stellar rookie season, as she was selected on Wednesday afternoon as one of the 64 singles players that will compete in the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships in Stanford, Calif., May 25-30 at the Taube Tennis Center.

"This is an incredible achievement and a great way to finish a strong freshman campaign," said head coach Steve Bietau. "We are really looking forward to the next two weeks of preparation to cap this all off. Petra brings so much to our program with her results, her daily results in practice, her work ethic and her intellect. She is a valuable member of our team."

Niedermayerova, one of 49 at-large selections to the field, finished as the Big 12 champion at the number one singles position with a 9-2 record. The native of Brno, Czech Republic, has the second-most wins by a freshman in school history and is tied for fourth in school history for overall wins in a season with her 24-9 record in her rookie campaign. Her winning percentage for the season of .727 ranks third in school history.

Earlier this season, Niedermayerova was named Big 12 Player of the Week on March 29, after she notched three wins over ranked foes in an eight-day span. Niedermayerova has achieved a ranking in the Campbell/ITA national singles rankings six times this season, including four straight weeks from April 12-May 2, which includes her current ranking of No. 50.

Niedermayerova is the fourth player in school history to reach the NCAA Championship field in singles action and the first since Alena Jecminkova in the 2002 season. K-State has advanced two student-athletes to at least the round of 32, as Yana Dorodnova reached the quarterfinals during the 1998 season.

The 2011 NCAA Division I singles championship draw will be announced on either May 23 or 24 depending on the results of the team championship.

Kansas State Individual Selections to the NCAA Championships (All-time)
Karina Kuregian, 1995
Yana Dorodnova, 1998
Alena Jecminkova, 2000, 2001, 2002
Petra Niedermayerova, 2011