Niedermayerova Earns Big 12 Player of the Year Honors

Petra Niedermayerova

May 11, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State freshman Petra Niedermayerova added a pair of awards to her personal trophy case on Wednesday, as she was named the Big 12 Player of the Year and the Big 12 Freshman of the Year by the league’s coaches. She is the second student-athlete in Big 12 women’s tennis history to earn both honors in the same season, joining Baylor’s Zuzana Zemenova from Baylor in the 2005 campaign.

This is the second time a Wildcat has earned Big 12 Player of the Year and Big 12 Freshman of the Year honors. K-State’s first Big 12 Player of the Year was Alena Jecminkova in 2002 and the Wildcats’ first Freshman of the Year was Petra Sedlmajerova in 2000.

Niedermayerova was also K-State’s 15th student-athlete named to the All-Big 12 singles team and the first since the 2008 season. She was the only freshman to earn the distinction this season. The All-Big 12 tennis teams and awards are selected by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

“Petra is pretty special for us and we have had the good fortune to work with her every day this year and to be recognized in this way by the coaches in a league like the Big 12 is really incredible,” said head coach Steve Bietau about the honors bestowed upon Niedermayerova on Wednesday. “Based on qualifying for NCAAs as a freshman, she is ahead of where Alena and Petra were at this point of their careers. Those two played on and led some terrific teams, so it is a great start to her career and we are fortunate to have one of the best players in the country here at K-State. We are hopeful that she can continue to improve and the team continues to improve as well.”

Niedermayerova finished as the Big 12 champion at the No. 1 singles position with a 9-2 record, which was a first for K-State. The native of Brno, Czech Republic, has the second-most wins by a freshman in school history and is tied for fourth in school history for overall wins in a season with her 24-9 record in her rookie campaign. Her winning percentage for the season of .727 ranks third in school history.

Earlier this spring, Niedermayerova was named Big 12 Player of the Week on March 29, after she notched three wins over ranked foes in an eight-day span. Niedermayerova has achieved a ranking in the Campbell/ITA national singles rankings six times this season, including four straight weeks from April 12-May 2, which includes her current ranking of No. 50. She also tallied her first citation of any kind during the 35th Annual Milwaukee Tennis Classic on Sept. 19. Regarded as one of the longest running and top collegiate fall tournaments, she received the Mulcahy Sportsmanship Award at the conclusion of the fall event.

The next action for Niedermayerova will be the 2011 NCAA Division I singles championships in Palo Alto, Calif., on May 25-30. She was one of 49 at-large selections to the field of 64 and will discover who her opponent is at a later date.

Niedermayerova is the fourth player in school history to reach the NCAA Championship field in singles action and the first since Jecminkova in the 2002 season. K-State has advanced two student-athletes to at least the round of 32, as Yana Dorodnova reached the quarterfinals during the 1998 season.

2011 All-Big 12 Women’s Tennis Honors
Big 12 Player of the Year
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State

Big 12 Freshman of the Year
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State

Big 12 Newcomer of the Year
Sona Novakova, Baylor

Big 12 Coach of the Year
Todd Petty, Texas Tech

All-Big 12 Team
Sona Novakova, Baylor, Jr. *
Diana Nakic, Baylor, Jr.
Nina Secerbegovic, Baylor
Ekaterina Morozova, Kansas
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State
Madeleine Geibert, Nebraska
Patricia Veresova, Nebraska
Ana Maria Constantinescu, Oklahoma
Aeriel Ellis, Texas
Morgan Frank, Texas A&M
Nazari Urbina, Texas A&M
Elizabeth Ullathorne, Texas Tech

Karolina Filipiak/Nina Secerbegovic, Baylor
Ekaterina Morozova/Dylan Windom, Kansas
Alice Radu/Ana Maria Constantinescu, Oklahoma
Cierra Gayton-Leach/Amanda Craddock, Texas
Christi Liles/Christi Potgieter, Texas A&M
Kelsy Garland/Samantha Adams, Texas Tech

*- Unanimous selection