Wildcats Make Grade with AVCA Team Academic Award

Alex Muff

July 22, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. – For the eighth time in 10 years the Kansas State volleyball team again proved to be one of the nation’s top teams in the classroom earning the AVCA Team Academic Award. The American Volleyball Coaches Association announced the recipients of the award that recognizes teams with a cumulative team GPA of 3.30 or higher on a 4.0 scale during the academic year. This also is the ninth time K-State has received the academic award overall.

This year saw 92 NCAA Division I women’s teams make the grade for the 2010-11 academic year. The Big 12 Conference had four teams on the list with Baylor, Iowa State and Kansas joining the Wildcats. The AVCA had another record year for the Team Academic Award with a total of 481 teams recognized across high school, NCAA, NAIA and two-year colleges. The previous record was 450 teams last year.

The Wildcats win the award after receiving the honor each of the first seven years head coach Suzie Fritz led the program from with a team GPA of 3.43. K-State placed five student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 Team with four on the first team. JuliAnne Chisholm also was named to the ESPN Academic All-America Second Team for her second academic All-America honor.

“This is very exciting to win the AVCA Team Academic Award again. We take great pride in being a program with an emphasis on academic success,” Fritz said. “Our student-athletes take being a student first very seriously and they all pride themselves in doing well in the classroom. This award is a testament to the hard work they put into their studies and to our academic services staff for providing the assistance and resources necessary to be successful in the classroom.”

Winning the award adds to the many academic successes for K-State student-athletes in all sports. K-State currently holds the No. 1 all-sports graduation rate in the Big 12, an honor it has staked claim to in each of the past four years. The AVCA Team Academic Award was created in the 1992-93 academic year to recognize college and high school teams for excellence in the classroom.