Pelger Named Preseason All-Big 12

Kaitlynn Pelger

Aug. 9, 2011

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Big 12 Conference announced its preseason all-conference awards on Tuesday afternoon in preparation for the 2011 season, and Kansas State’s Kaitlynn Pelger was honored by the league’s coaches. Pelger was selected to the Preseason All-Big 12 Team after her strong freshman campaign from a year ago.

Pelger was one of only four sophomores to make the list of 17 players. Other underclassmen on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team were Missouri setter Molly Kreklow, Oklahoma middle blocker Sallie McLaurin and Texas A&M setter Allie Sawatzky.

Last season, Pelger pounded out 328 kills to lead the Wildcats on the year. She also hit at a .254 percentage to go along with her 1.19 digs per set average. The Olathe South product also was one of the team’s top blockers averaging 0.88 per set and contributing on 100 blocks on the year. Pelger became the 21st player in school history and first-ever freshman to tally a triple-triple season with 328 kills, 134 digs and 100 blocks.

Texas claimed two of the three individual preseason awards with middle blocker Rachael Adams selected as the Big 12 Preseason Player of the Year. Fellow middle blocker Khat Bell was voted the Big 12 Preseason Freshman of the Year by the coaches. Iowa State’s Hannah Willms was chosen as the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year after redshirting last year.

The coaches voted unanimously on five players to make the preseason team. Iowa State’s Jamie Straube, OU’s Brianne Barker, UT’s Adams, A&M’s Kelsey Black and Texas Tech’s Amanda Dowdy all were selected by every coach. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players. The conference office will announce the 2011 Preseason Big 12 Coaches Poll on Wednesday.

Pelger and the Wildcats began their own preparation for the season on Tuesday with their first practices of training camp. K-State opens its season on Aug. 26 at the Georgia Tech Courtyard Classic. For season ticket information on K-State’s 13 home matches this season go to or call 1-800-221-CATS (2287).

Player of the Year: Rachael Adams, Texas, MB, Sr., 6-2, Cincinnati, Ohio
Newcomer of the Year: Hannah Willms, Iowa State, OH, RS Fr., 6-0, Waterloo, Iowa
Freshman of the Year: Khat Bell, Texas, MB.OH, Fr., 6-1, Mesquite, Texas


NameSchoolPos.Cl.Ht.Hometown/Last School
Torri CampellBaylorMBJr.6-2Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo
Alison LandwehrIowa StateSJr.6-0St. Louis, Mo./Parkway West
Jamie Straube^Iowa StateMBJr.6-2Tecumseh, Neb./Johnson Couty Central
Kaitlynn PelgerKansas StateMBSo.6-2Olathe, Kan./Olathe South
Brittney BrimmageMissouriMB/OHSr.6-3East St. Louis, Ill./East St. Louis
Molly KreklowMissouriSSo.6-0Delano, Minn./Delano
Brianne Barker^OklahomaSFr.5-9Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo
Suzy BoulavskyOklahomaRS/OHSr.6-1Houston, Texas/Clear Brook
Sallie McLaurinOklahomaMBSo.6-2Midwest City, Okla./Carl Albert
Rachael Adams^TexasMBSr.6-2Cincinnati, Ohio/Mount Notre Dame
Amber RobersonTexasOHSr.6-2San Antonio, Texas/Wagner
Kelsey Black^Texas A&MOHSr.5-11Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo
Allie SawatzkyTexas A&MSSo.6-2St. Andrews, Manitoba, Canada/Lord Selkirk
Amanda Dowdy^Texas TechOHSr.6-3Lexington, Texas/Lexington

^ - Unanimous Selection; Ties occurred in voting to result in a 17-member preseason team.