K-State Picked Sixth in Big 12 Poll

MANHATTAN, Kan. - The Big 12 Conference released its preseason all-conference awards and coaches poll on Thursday with Kansas State picked to finish sixth in the league. The Wildcats finished third last season with a 24-8 overall record and 14-6 mark in conference play.

The preseason favorites were the Texas Longhorns receiving eight of 11 first place votes after reaching the NCAA Semifinals for the first time since 1995 last season. Nebraska was picked to finish second receiving the remainder of first place votes and also reaching the NCAA Semifinals. The coaches selected Iowa State to finish third with Texas A&M and Baylor rounding out the top five.

The conference also announced its Preseason All-Big 12 Team along with Player of the Year, Newcomer and Freshman of the Year. Destinee Hooker of Texas was selected as the Player of the Year after receiving AVCA First Team All-America honors last season and being named the 2008-09 Big 12 Female Athlete of the Year for her work on the volleyball team and as a high jumper for track and field.

Missouri's Paola Ampudia was selected as the Newcomer of the Year, and Bailey Webster of Texas received Preseason Freshman of the Year honors.

K-State had one player selected to the Preseason All-Big 12 Team as senior middle blocker Kelsey Chipman received recognition from the conference's coaches. Chipman and the Wildcats open their season at the Runza/AVCA Showcase in Omaha, Neb., on August 28-29 against Minnesota and Michigan at the Qwest Center.

For ticket information to the Showcase contact the K-State Ticket Office at 1-800-221-CATS, the Qwest Center Box Office or go to ticketmaster.com. Fans can also purchase season tickets to all the exciting K-State home matches at Ahearn Fieldhouse through the ticket office.



Rank       Team (First-place Votes)            Points            

   1.          Texas (8)                                           98

   2.          Nebraska (3)                                     93

   3.          Iowa State                                         81

   4.          Texas A&M                                       68

   5.          Baylor                                                63

   6.          Kansas State                                     57

   7.          Oklahoma                                         46               

   8.          Missouri                                            38

   9.          Kansas                                               30               

10.          Colorado                                           20

11.          Texas Tech                                        11

Ten points were awarded for first-place votes, nine for second, etc.  Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team. 

Preseason Player of the Year:                          Destinee Hooker, Texas, OH, Sr., 6-4, San Antonio, Texas/Southwest

Preseason Newcomer of the Year:                 Paola Ampudia, Missouri, OH/RS, Jr., 6-1, Cali, Colombia/Miami Dade College

Preseason Freshman of the Year:                    Bailey Webster, Texas, OH, 6-3, Baltimore, Md./St. Paul's School For Girls             



Name, School                                       Pos.             Cl.           Ht.          Hometown/Previous School

Taylor Barnes, Baylor                             S                Sr.          5-11         Arlington, Texas/Martin

Anna Breyfogle, Baylor                        MB              Sr.           6-1          Buda, Texas/Hays

Victoria Henson, Iowa State^              OH              Jr.           5-11         Leavenworth, Kan./Leavenworth

Kaylee Manns, Iowa State                     S                Sr.          5-10         Topeka, Kan./Washburn Rural

Ashley Mass, Iowa State                     DS/L            Jr.            5-8          Muskego, Wis./Muskego

Kelsey Chipman, Kansas State            MB              Sr.           6-1          Topeka, Kan./Washburn Rural 

Sydney Anderson, Nebraska^              S                Jr.            6-0          Salt Lake City, Utah/Utah

Kori Cooper, Nebraska^                      MB              Sr.           6-2          Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo

Tara Mueller, Nebraska                       OH              Jr.            6-0          Scottsdale,  Ariz./Desert Mountain 

Ashley Engle, Texas^                           S/RS             Sr.           6-3          Yorba Linda, Calif./Esperanza

Juliann Faucette, Texas^                      OH              Jr.            6-2          San Diego, Calif./Westview

Destinee Hooker, Texas                       OH              Sr.           6-4          San Antonio, Texas/Southwest

Sarah Ammerman, Texas A&M^        OH              Sr.           6-2          Parker, Colo./Chaparral

Mary Batis, Texas A&M                        OH              Sr.           6-0          San Antonio, Texas/Clark

 ^ - Unanimous Selection


- k-statesports.com -