Eight Wildcats Earn Academic All-Big 12

Nov. 13, 2012

2012 Academic All-Big 12 Get Acrobat Reader

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Eight Kansas State Wildcats were recognized on Tuesday for their hard work in the classroom as the Big 12 Conference announced its annual Academic All-Big 12 Volleyball Team. Seven of the recipients were named to the first team, and two received the honor for the first time.

The seven Wildcats named to the first team were senior setter Caitlyn Donahue, senior libero Kuulei Kabalis, senior opposite Kathleen Ludwig, sophomore defensive specialist Gina Madonia, senior middle blocker Alex Muff and junior outside hitters Lilla Porubek and Courtney Traxson. Junior outside hitter Dakota Kaufman was named to the second team for the second straight year.

Donahue and Muff each earned their third first team honor as Ludwig, Porubek and Traxson all repeat as first team members as well. It is Ludwig’s third overall honor receiving second team in 2010. Kabalis and Madonia both make Academic All-Big 12 in their first years to be eligible for the award.

Three of the Wildcats are majoring in education with Ludwig and Kaufman studying elementary education. Donahue is majoring in secondary education. Muff is majoring in marketing, and Porubek is studying economics. Traxson is studying psychology, and Kabalis is majoring in social sciences. Madonia is an open option and has not declared a major yet.

A total of 46 volleyball student-athletes made the team this year with 42 of them honored as first team members. Four Big 12 student-athletes also were recognized with perfect 4.0 GPAs.

K-State has now had 95 Academic All-Big 12 selections under Head Coach Suzie Fritz in her 12 years leading the program.

To qualify for Academic All-Big 12 student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the previous two semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all criteria except percent of participation are also eligible. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 GPA or better and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.