Korobkova, Lastra Earn All-Region Honor

MANHATTAN, Kan. Junior Nataly Korobkova and senior Angie Lastra were both voted to the 2007 AVCA All-Central Region team, as announced by the American Volleyball Coaches Association on Wednesday. Korobkova was listed on the 12-member team for the first time in her Wildcat career, while Lastra earned her first selection with an honorable mention nod. 

The two helped aid the Wildcats to an NCAA Tournament appearance, where the Cats advanced to the second round after defeating Tulsa. Both members were also honored recently by the Big 12 coaches after Korobkova was voted to the All-Big 12 first team while Lastra captured honorable mention and the Libero of the Year distinction. 

Korobkova and Lastra mark the 18th and 19th Wildcat to earn an all-district honor and the first honorees for Kansas State since the 2004 season when Vali Hejjas and Gabby Guerre were selected. 

K-State’s duo was picked alongside a number of fellow Big 12 members: six individuals of the Texas Longhorns (Juliann Faucette, Destinee Hooker, Michelle Moriarty, Lauren Paolini, Ashley Engle, Brandy Magee) and five Huskers of Nebraska (Rachel Holloway, Christina Houghtelling, Jordan Larson, Sarah Pavan, Tracy Stalls).